The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Oct 01, 2003, 02:30pm
Official Forum Member

I am a veteran member of a FL association, that has a declining number of members. We need to honestly evaluate our officials without making them angry and causing them to quit. It the past our evaluation system has been such to not hurt feelings. This does not help anyone get better.
I would appreciate any input on what other associations are doing to honestly evaluate it officials
Old Wed Oct 01, 2003, 04:37pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by d1ref2b
I am a veteran member of a FL association, that has a declining number of members. We need to honestly evaluate our officials without making them angry and causing them to quit. It the past our evaluation system has been such to not hurt feelings. This does not help anyone get better.
I would appreciate any input on what other associations are doing to honestly evaluate it officials.
I have received a number of, shall we say, "Less Than Stellar" evaluations, and I tend to be a little emotional and touchy. Here's how my association has kept me around, and avoided hurting my feelings.

1) All evals are strictly private. Strictly. No one knows what's in them except me and the person who wrote them, and the commissioner. No scores, ratings or values are released to anyone at any time (except the voting for state tournaments).

2) Game assignment lists aren't available to most of us. In order to find out who's doing the best you have to show up at the best games and see who's there.