The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Jan 19, 2010, 09:52am
Official Forum Member

Defender counting out loud during inbound

I'm a coach and would like to get some clarification. When an offensive team is inbounding the ball I instruct my player who is defending the inbounder to count out loud to five. Yesterday I was told that my players were not allowed to do this. The ref said that I could say anything else "Apples,Apples Apples" but not numbers. I have been searching high and low in a rule book for a rule preventing a team from doing this. The ref gave a warning and said that we could be called for unsportsmanlike or disconsertion. I've read about disconcertion and have only seen explanations that relate to free throws. Please help me out.
Old Tue Jan 19, 2010, 10:05am
Courageous When Prudent

Why do you have you players count out loud?
Old Tue Jan 19, 2010, 10:06am
In Memoriam

See rule 10-4-1(b)-"attempting to influence an official's decision". That's exactly why you're teaching your players to do that. And note that you will get charged with the "T" because you are teaching your players to do that. We could also call a "T" on your player for the same reason instead of calling one on you.

I personally won't allow it and we teach our officials not to allow it either. Warn and wack. The sole purpose of that ploy is to try and intimidate us into making a call.

Do you coach your players to say the same thing during your throw-ins?

Bad coach!

Bad, bad coach!

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Tue Jan 19, 2010 at 10:08am.
Old Tue Jan 19, 2010, 10:10am
Official Forum Member

I can tell you that the throwing team would probably be allowed about 10 seconds to make the throw-in because I would get distracted and lose my count, if a defending team was doing this.