The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 16, 2010, 10:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 937
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Yes, but the ball bounced in the BC. This play is a violation.



Right ruling (no violation), wrong reason. TC exists as soon as A1 caught the ball. All the conditions of a BC violation are met, and this would be a violation except for the exception in the rules.


i was in the stands watching a GJV game last night, and had a BC/TC status question on this sitch:
:08 sec.to go in 1st half. Clock is stopped Team A has an end line throw in from under B's basket...all the remaining players from both teams are in A's FC.
A1 throws the ball in by rolling onto the court. As it gets close to the division line A2 runs up to the ball, straddles the division line (right foot in BC, left foot in FC), and stops the ball from rolling with her hand. Ball is still in BC on the floor and her hand is on top it, and she's still straddling the line.
My questions on the highlighted section:
1) Has A2 established TC?

2) If A2 has established TC, is it a BC violation?

3) If #2 is not a BC violation, when A2 picked up the ball (while still straddling the line) am I correct in assuming that if A2 lifted her right foot (the BC foot) first and brought that down in the FC..no BC violation? If A2 lifted her left foot (FC foot) and brought that down in the BC...BC violation?

4) Is it BC if from the "pinned to the floor position", while still straddling the division line, A2 rolled the ball back to A1 in the BC?

#4 is what actually happened in the game, refs let play continue. Not being critical of the refs here, like CDurham, I'm still having difficulty throughly understanding BC violations...bit have found all the replies to the OP helpful. Good question CD....it started, IMO, a good thread for us newbies.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 16, 2010, 10:33am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by kjump View Post
i was in the stands watching a gjv game last night, and had a bc/tc status question on this sitch:
:08 sec.to go in 1st half. Clock is stopped team a has an end line throw in from under b's basket...all the remaining players from both teams are in a's fc.
A1 throws the ball in by rolling onto the court. As it gets close to the division line a2 runs up to the ball, straddles the division line (right foot in bc, left foot in fc), and stops the ball from rolling with her hand. ball is still in bc on the floor and her hand is on top it, and she's still straddling the line.
my questions on the highlighted section:
1) has a2 established tc?

i'd have to see it, but i'd say no.


2) if a2 has established tc, is it a bc violation?

no. One way or the other, ball never left bc.

3) if #2 is not a bc violation, when a2 picked up the ball (while still straddling the line) am i correct in assuming that if a2 lifted her right foot (the bc foot) first and brought that down in the fc..no bc violation? If a2 lifted her left foot (fc foot) and brought that down in the bc...bc violation?

as long as a2, is straddling the line she has bc status. Neither of these is a violation.

4) is it bc if from the "pinned to the floor position", while still straddling the division line, a2 rolled the ball back to a1 in the bc?

no. Ball never achieved fc status.

#4 is what actually happened in the game, refs let play continue. Not being critical of the refs here, like cdurham, i'm still having difficulty throughly understanding bc violations...bit have found all the replies to the op helpful. Good question cd....it started, imo, a good thread for us newbies.
ok?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove

Last edited by just another ref; Sat Jan 16, 2010 at 10:37am.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 16, 2010, 03:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 26
New situation.
Discussion came up in a game today.

A1 dribbles to mid line, with one foot in front court, one in back and ball dribbles in front court. HE stops dribble. And pivots back over mid line to bring both feet together. BC?

What if A1 stops the dribble before mid court line. He pivots over teh line (foot, ball, head, shoulder), and the back. BC?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 16, 2010, 03:53pm
9/11 - Never Forget
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,642
Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
Remember, in situations like this, the ball and both feet must be in the front court and then something must go to the back court to make the back court call.

One foot and the ball in the front court, just the ball, both feet and not the ball - all not good enough. All three must be in the front court.

Now, can you answer your own question(s)?
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 16, 2010, 03:55pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by smbbcoach99 View Post
New situation.
Discussion came up in a game today.

A1 dribbles to mid line, with one foot in front court, one in back and ball dribbles in front court. HE stops dribble. And pivots back over mid line to bring both feet together. BC?

What if A1 stops the dribble before mid court line. He pivots over teh line (foot, ball, head, shoulder), and the back. BC?
In the first situation, it would not be a violation. Three points in the front court are required for a player dribbling the ball to have front court status. Since only two points crossed, the player still had backcourt status. After the dribble has ended, if the player used the foot in the backcourt as the pivot foot, then no violation.

In the second situation, A1 still has a backcourt status.

4-35 Player location will help clear this up.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
confusion on basebaths steveshane67 Softball 11 Wed Jun 03, 2009 04:49pm
Backcourt confusion gibb2k5 Basketball 11 Wed Feb 14, 2007 03:11am
shooting FTS confusion Johnny Ringo Basketball 3 Sat Jan 06, 2007 03:15am
Confusion... Oz Referee Basketball 6 Sun Nov 25, 2001 01:03am
Confusion? Just Curious Softball 3 Fri May 18, 2001 11:40am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1