The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 03, 2010, 03:17pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by mick View Post
Section 44 TRAVELING


ART. 5 . . .
A player holding the ball:
a. May not touch the floor with a knee or any other part of the body other than
hand or foot.


I think Rule 44-5-a shows that a player (though sitting) holding the ball and then touching the player's back (not hand or foot) to the floor is a violation.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
So if a player sitting on the floor who legally gains possession of the ball then touches the floor with his elbow, you're going to call the violation?

Shirley, I think the rule is not difficut.
"Other than hand or foot" is not a difficult concept, methinks.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 03, 2010, 04:06pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,326
Quote Was Better On Airplane ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by mick View Post
Shirley, I think the rule is not difficut.
YouTube - michael scott don't call me shirley
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 03, 2010, 04:11pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by mick View Post
Shirley, I think the rule is not difficut.
"Other than hand or foot" is not a difficult concept, methinks.
[/LEFT]
No, it's not, but whether it applies to a player who gains the ball while on the floor is up for discussion, don't you think?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 03, 2010, 04:24pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
If interpreted literally, this rule could say that it is traveling when the player on the floor gains control.

...............player holding the ball may not touch the floor with......any other body part...............


It doesn't say may not subsequently touch.........

Therefore, we must conclude that4-44-5a refers to a standing player.
Correct?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 03, 2010, 05:03pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
If interpreted literally, this rule could say that it is traveling when the player on the floor gains control.

...............player holding the ball may not touch the floor with......any other body part...............


It doesn't say may not subsequently touch.........

Therefore, we must conclude that4-44-5a refers to a standing player.
Correct?
Wow -what a great interpretation. JAR, gotta' give you props for this. I think you may have nailed it. Deducing this puts you in the same category as that British detective with the deer stalker hat. I'm not kidding - this was absolutely brilliant.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 03, 2010, 05:34pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,326
"I can't make bricks without clay."

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett View Post
Deducing this puts you in the same category as that British detective with the deer stalker hat.
"Excellent!" I cried. "Elementary," said he.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 03, 2010, 05:46pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
If interpreted literally, this rule could say that it is traveling when the player on the floor gains control.

...............player holding the ball may not touch the floor with......any other body part...............


It doesn't say may not subsequently touch.........

Therefore, we must conclude that4-44-5a refers to a standing player.
Correct?
I was using the words that were printed and not the words which were omitted, imagined or possible heard from the *voices*.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 03, 2010, 06:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by mick View Post
I was using the words that were printed and not the words which were omitted, imagined or possible heard from the *voices*.
Except that in this case, there are implied words. That should be obvious. I don't think any one has ever observed or made a traveling call on a player who is seated or lying on the floor then picks up the ball. If we were to take the rule literally, that would be the necessary result.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 03, 2010, 05:42pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
No, it's not, but whether it applies to a player who gains the ball while on the floor is up for discussion, don't you think?
Descriptions and exceptions are shown for being on the floor [i.e., rolling, sliding, laying on the back, sitting up], but no exceptions are given for holding the ball.

Holding the ball is holding the ball, whether sitting or standing.
While holding the ball, if [standing or sitting] A slaps away a defender's hand, what, if any, kind of foul would be called on A?
While holding the ball, may [standing or sitting] A shoot, or pass, or start a dribble?

Then why while holding the ball may [standing or sitting] Player A be allowed to touch A's back (or elbow) to the floor, without a specifically noted exception to the rule [as written]?
If A is allowed to lay down, it is quite possible, though obviously not a basketball play, for A to lay down with enough force to locomote to another place on the court by laying back, legally sitting up, and laying back again.

I think the rule is clear.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 03, 2010, 06:48pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by mick View Post
Descriptions and exceptions are shown for being on the floor [i.e., rolling, sliding, laying on the back, sitting up], but no exceptions are given for holding the ball.

Holding the ball is holding the ball, whether sitting or standing.
While holding the ball, if [standing or sitting] A slaps away a defender's hand, what, if any, kind of foul would be called on A?
While holding the ball, may [standing or sitting] A shoot, or pass, or start a dribble?

Then why while holding the ball may [standing or sitting] Player A be allowed to touch A's back (or elbow) to the floor, without a specifically noted exception to the rule [as written]?
If A is allowed to lay down, it is quite possible, though obviously not a basketball play, for A to lay down with enough force to locomote to another place on the court by laying back, legally sitting up, and laying back again.

I think the rule is clear.
Mick, I read this rule the was jar does. Yes, the rule is clear, but I've always understood your posted portion to be inapplicable to a player who legally gains control of the ball while otherwise in violation of this rule.

Restrictions on what may be done after gaining control on the floor are different. Otherwise, how do you not call a violation on the player for having his rear end touch the floor while he's holding it.

If you're going to say anything touching when he gained control is excepted, fine. Will you then call a violation on the player who gains control lying on his back and proceeds to touch his elbow to the floor?

If the rules you state apply to a player already on the floor, then my understanding of this rule is completely flawed.

"Coach, you're right, he was on the floor when he got it. But then he touched the floor with his calf when he straighted his legs out."
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 03, 2010, 07:25pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Mick, I read this rule the was jar does. Yes, the rule is clear, but I've always understood your posted portion to be inapplicable to a player who legally gains control of the ball while otherwise in violation of this rule.

Restrictions on what may be done after gaining control on the floor are different. Otherwise, how do you not call a violation on the player for having his rear end touch the floor while he's holding it.

If you're going to say anything touching when he gained control is excepted, fine. Will you then call a violation on the player who gains control lying on his back and proceeds to touch his elbow to the floor?

If the rules you state apply to a player already on the floor, then my understanding of this rule is completely flawed.

"Coach, you're right, he was on the floor when he got it. But then he touched the floor with his calf when he straighted his legs out."
  • The rule is clear but you undertood it to mean *more* based on what?
  • Restrictions are spelled out. The allowance to sit and hold is shown. And as you showed most of the traveling rule is based upon what a player is allowed to do, while most of the other rules show what a player may not do.
  • If the player touches his elbow for any reason other than sitting upright (which is permitted), then yes, I believe a violation has occurred.
  • With no exception written for a player holding while sitting on the floor, I do not think an exception should be contrived.
  • Again, if the player touches his body parts to the floor in an effort to sit up, I have no violation, but no movement by the player in the sitting position is permitted except passing, shooting and starting a dribble to rise. Neither laying down, nor leaning on an elbow is permitted.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 03, 2010, 08:15pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by mick View Post
  • The rule is clear but you undertood it to mean *more* based on what?
  • Restrictions are spelled out. The allowance to sit and hold is shown. And as you showed most of the traveling rule is based upon what a player is allowed to do, while most of the other rules show what a player may not do.
  • If the player touches his elbow for any reason other than sitting upright (which is permitted), then yes, I believe a violation has occurred.
  • With no exception written for a player holding while sitting on the floor, I do not think an exception should be contrived.
  • Again, if the player touches his body parts to the floor in an effort to sit up, I have no violation, but no movement by the player in the sitting position is permitted except passing, shooting and starting a dribble to rise. Neither laying down, nor leaning on an elbow is permitted.
I understand your interpretation, thanks Mick. I don't understand the portion highlighted in red, though.
It says a player may sit up, it doesn't specify that he may break other rules to do so.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 03, 2010, 08:39pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by mick View Post
  • The rule is clear but you undertood it to mean *more* based on what?
  • Restrictions are spelled out. The allowance to sit and hold is shown. And as you showed most of the traveling rule is based upon what a player is allowed to do, while most of the other rules show what a player may not do.
  • If the player touches his elbow for any reason other than sitting upright (which is permitted), then yes, I believe a violation has occurred.
  • With no exception written for a player holding while sitting on the floor, I do not think an exception should be contrived.
  • Again, if the player touches his body parts to the floor in an effort to sit up, I have no violation, but no movement by the player in the sitting position is permitted except passing, shooting and starting a dribble to rise. Neither laying down, nor leaning on an elbow is permitted.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I understand your interpretation, thanks Mick. I don't understand the portion highlighted in red, though.
It says a player may sit up, it doesn't specify that he may break other rules to do so.
I attempted to show that if an official interprets a movement (and subsequent touching of the floor by various body parts) by the player as simply the [allowed] attempt to sit up, then no violation has occurred.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OT: Canseco gets his butt whipped DonInKansas Baseball 1 Tue May 26, 2009 01:03pm
COach sitting outathm Volleyball 7 Wed Sep 17, 2008 03:18pm
Butt chewing Junker Basketball 9 Mon Mar 14, 2005 04:50pm
Colorectalable Error. A real pain in the butt. JeffTheRef Basketball 13 Thu Jul 24, 2003 07:35pm
sitting down on 30 TO johnfox Basketball 6 Thu Dec 07, 2000 02:45pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1