![]() |
|
|
|||
![]() Quote:
Section 44 TRAVELING ART. 5 . . . A player holding the ball:
a. May not touch the floor with a knee or any other part of the body other than hand or foot. I think Rule 44-5-a shows that a player (though sitting) holding the ball and then touching the player's back (not hand or foot) to the floor is a violation. |
|
|||
This is what I was thinking. Though it is not specified, I always took it for granted that this rule refers to a standing player.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
![]()
It's not a travel unless he moves his pivot cheek.
![]() Actually, the points made in the thread are really interesting. By strict interpretation of that rule, it would be a travel if the player touched the floor with his back or his elbow, or even his wrist, if you don't consider the wrist a part of the hand. I must admit in all my years, I've never called a travel if the player sitting up while on the floor with the ball laid back down, and certainly not if his elbow hit the floor. Maybe I was wrong.
__________________
Yom HaShoah |
|
|||
Time For A Nap ???
And you've seen this play, how many times?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote Was Better On Airplane ...
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
If interpreted literally, this rule could say that it is traveling when the player on the floor gains control.
...............player holding the ball may not touch the floor with......any other body part............... It doesn't say may not subsequently touch......... Therefore, we must conclude that4-44-5a refers to a standing player. Correct?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
![]() Quote:
__________________
Yom HaShoah |
|
|||
"I can't make bricks without clay."
"Excellent!" I cried. "Elementary," said he.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Except that in this case, there are implied words. That should be obvious. I don't think any one has ever observed or made a traveling call on a player who is seated or lying on the floor then picks up the ball. If we were to take the rule literally, that would be the necessary result.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
Holding the ball is holding the ball, whether sitting or standing. While holding the ball, if [standing or sitting] A slaps away a defender's hand, what, if any, kind of foul would be called on A?If A is allowed to lay down, it is quite possible, though obviously not a basketball play, for A to lay down with enough force to locomote to another place on the court by laying back, legally sitting up, and laying back again. I think the rule is clear. ![]() |
|
||||
Quote:
Restrictions on what may be done after gaining control on the floor are different. Otherwise, how do you not call a violation on the player for having his rear end touch the floor while he's holding it. If you're going to say anything touching when he gained control is excepted, fine. Will you then call a violation on the player who gains control lying on his back and proceeds to touch his elbow to the floor? If the rules you state apply to a player already on the floor, then my understanding of this rule is completely flawed. "Coach, you're right, he was on the floor when he got it. But then he touched the floor with his calf when he straighted his legs out."
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
OT: Canseco gets his butt whipped | DonInKansas | Baseball | 1 | Tue May 26, 2009 01:03pm |
COach sitting | outathm | Volleyball | 7 | Wed Sep 17, 2008 03:18pm |
Butt chewing | Junker | Basketball | 9 | Mon Mar 14, 2005 04:50pm |
Colorectalable Error. A real pain in the butt. | JeffTheRef | Basketball | 13 | Thu Jul 24, 2003 07:35pm |
sitting down on 30 TO | johnfox | Basketball | 6 | Thu Dec 07, 2000 02:45pm |