![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
If interpreted literally, this rule could say that it is traveling when the player on the floor gains control.
...............player holding the ball may not touch the floor with......any other body part............... It doesn't say may not subsequently touch......... Therefore, we must conclude that4-44-5a refers to a standing player. Correct?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Yom HaShoah |
|
|||
|
"I can't make bricks without clay."
"Excellent!" I cried. "Elementary," said he.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Except that in this case, there are implied words. That should be obvious. I don't think any one has ever observed or made a traveling call on a player who is seated or lying on the floor then picks up the ball. If we were to take the rule literally, that would be the necessary result.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| OT: Canseco gets his butt whipped | DonInKansas | Baseball | 1 | Tue May 26, 2009 01:03pm |
| COach sitting | outathm | Volleyball | 7 | Wed Sep 17, 2008 03:18pm |
| Butt chewing | Junker | Basketball | 9 | Mon Mar 14, 2005 04:50pm |
| Colorectalable Error. A real pain in the butt. | JeffTheRef | Basketball | 13 | Thu Jul 24, 2003 07:35pm |
| sitting down on 30 TO | johnfox | Basketball | 6 | Thu Dec 07, 2000 02:45pm |