![]() |
|
|
|||
Never noticed this before. Is this not a contradiction?
6-4-3d: An alternating possession throw-in shall result when a live ball lodges between the backboard and ring or comes to rest on the flange, unless a free throw or throw-in follows. 9-2-8: The thrown ball shall not become lodged between the backboard and ring or come to rest on the flange before it touches or is touched by another player. violation.....ball awarded to opponent.......etc. etc.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Seems this is a specific throw-in violation. It does seem to contradict the wording in 6-4-3 which would seem to indicate all live balls that come to rest/get stuck go to A/P.
I can see making this exception, however, as in this case the ball is not passed directly onto the court where it can touch or be touched by a player. Throw-in violation. Good find. 6-4-3 should probably note the additional exception in 9-2-8. |
|
|||
Probably should be noted in 6-4-3d that there's an exception. I agree 6-4-3 makes it sounds like all live balls that get stuck/come to rest go AP.
The only other thing I would add is 9-2-8 says before it touches or is touched by another player (i.e. before the throw-in has ended). Maybe the Fed's thinking is this is good enough and no exception is needed. Interesting, good find! |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
bob,
I take that to mean if it gets lodged and a throw-in follows then you proceed to the throw-in... i.e. the second technical foul free throw gets lodged/comes to rest then you go to the throw-in at the division line, not the AP. |
|
|||
I almost always agree with Bob. This time I'll agree with tjones.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Who are you? What have you done with the real Bob?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
This all reads very clear to me, so I'm not sure where the confusion comes from.
NFHS 6-4-3d: ... An alternating-possession throw-in shall result when: A live ball lodges between the backboard and ring or comes to rest on the flange, unless a free throw or throw-in follows. This is pretty straight-forward, especially if you think about it in terms of how you will resume play. It is even clearer if we come at it back to front. When a live ball "wedgies" and we already know play will resume with a free throw (e.g., the first of two free throws wedgies, the shooter is fouled during a try that wedgies), we resume play with the free throw. When a live ball "wedgies" and we already know play will resume with a throw-in (e.g., the second free throw for a technical foul wedgies, a try by an airborne shooter who commits a player control foul wedgies), we resume play with the throw-in. Otherwise, we resume play with an AP throw-in. NFHS 9-2-8: The thrown ball shall not become lodged between the backboard and ring or come to rest on the flange before it touches or is touched by another player. PENALTY: (Section 2) The ball becomes dead when the violation ... occurs. Following a violation, the ball is awarded to the opponents for a throw-in at the original throw-in spot. This rule and penalty apply specifically to committing a throw-in violation. How do we resume play after a throw-in violation? With a throw-in. And we covered that above. However, there appear to be some who haven't yet learned not to argue with Bob. Their thinking seems to be that the wedgie itself is the throw-in violation and that it had not been determined prior to the wedgie that a throw-in would follow. How do we resolve this rule, considered from this viewpoint, with the preceding one? NOTE: Any rules statement is made on the assumption that no infraction is involved unless mentioned or implied. If such infraction occurs, the rule governing it is followed. For example, a game or extra period will not start with a jump ball if a foul occurs before the ball becomes live. Simple, we don't resolve them. When a throw-in violation is involved, its rule is followed instead.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming Last edited by Back In The Saddle; Wed Dec 23, 2009 at 06:25pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Yom HaShoah |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Something else happened. But, in the case at hand, what happens in the rule statement itself in the one situation is the infraction. This is a big difference, in my opinion. An alternating-possession throw-in shall result when: A live ball lodges between the backboard and ring or comes to rest on the flange, unless a free throw or throw-in follows. Nothing else happened. A free throw or throw-in was not to follow. But an AP throw-in is still not the result.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove Last edited by just another ref; Wed Dec 23, 2009 at 06:54pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
Quote:
I happen to agree with them. |
|
|||
Quote:
It's not a question of overthinking. I'm looking at it from the perspective of someone reading the book for the first time. Live ball............lodged...............hmmmm........ ........let's see. Ah, here it is. This rule states flatly that we have an AP throw-in. Why would I assume anything else?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Ball lodged. | Rita C | Basketball | 30 | Sun Nov 22, 2009 06:17am |
Lodged ball? | btaylor64 | Basketball | 51 | Thu Dec 07, 2006 01:35pm |
Lodged Ball | mrm21711 | Baseball | 15 | Thu Feb 16, 2006 12:35am |
"lodged" ball | blueump | Baseball | 6 | Fri May 27, 2005 05:12pm |
Lodged ball. | JRutledge | Basketball | 38 | Thu Jul 18, 2002 06:25pm |