The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Lodged FT (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/56068-lodged-ft.html)

Chavez Wed Dec 23, 2009 11:07am

Lodged FT
 
A FT shot that gets lodged between the backboard and the ring....

If it is the first of multiple FT's, I believe it is considered a missed shot, and the remaining FT's are administered. However, what happens if it is lodged on last shot? I thought this was a violation, where team B would get to inbound the ball at the POI. But I cannot find it anywhere in the rule or case book.

The only reference I find is rule 6.4.3d: "A live ball lodges between the backboard and ring or comes to rest on the flange, unless a free throw or throw-in follows".

I cannot find the protocol anywhere. Any help?

Raymond Wed Dec 23, 2009 11:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chavez (Post 645143)
A FT shot that gets lodged between the backboard and the ring....

If it is the first of multiple FT's, I believe it is considered a missed shot, and the remaining FT's are administered. However, what happens if it is lodged on last shot? I thought this was a violation, where team B would get to inbound the ball at the POI. But I cannot find it anywhere in the rule or case book.

The only reference I find is rule 6.4.3d: "A live ball lodges between the backboard and ring or comes to rest on the flange, unless a free throw or throw-in follows".

I cannot find the protocol anywhere. Any help?

You have answered you own question.

jdmara Wed Dec 23, 2009 11:16am

If a live ball lodges between the backboard and ring or comes to rest on the flange during a throw-in or a freethrow, it is a violation.

-Josh

Chavez Wed Dec 23, 2009 11:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdmara (Post 645151)
If a live ball lodges between the backboard and ring or comes to rest on the flange during a throw-in or a freethrow, it is a violation.

-Josh

Any reference to that in the rulebook? I know 9.2.8 specifically talks about a thrown ball on a throw-in. But it doesn't say anything about a FT. Specifically the last FT....

mj Wed Dec 23, 2009 11:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chavez (Post 645156)
Any reference to that in the rulebook? I know 9.2.8 specifically talks about a thrown ball on a throw-in. But it doesn't say anything about a FT. Specifically the last FT....

It is not a violation. If it happens on a free throw or shot it is an alternating possession situation as you cited above.

representing Wed Dec 23, 2009 11:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 645146)
You have answered you own question.

6.4.3d says "unless a free throw or throw-in FOLLOWS." The OP situation is following a free-throw, not being followed by a free throw.

When the free-throw is at the disposal of the shooter, that ball is live (6.1.2b) just as it would be any other shot attempt. While it doesn't say in black-and-white, I would think this is an AP arrow situation.

jdw3018 Wed Dec 23, 2009 11:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by representing (Post 645160)
While it doesn't say in black-and-white

Actually, it does say in black-and-white.

representing Wed Dec 23, 2009 11:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018 (Post 645161)
Actually, it does say in black-and-white.

well, the OP has been requesting it and no one has been saying what reference it is in the book. I didn't see anything in the book saying anything about a lodged ball after a free-throw. Just the fact that a lodged ball after a shot goes to AP.

EDIT: I'll rephrase that to "not clear in black-and-white".

jdw3018 Wed Dec 23, 2009 11:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by representing (Post 645163)
well, the OP has been requesting it and no one has been saying what reference it is in the book. I didn't see anything in the book saying anything about a lodged ball after a free-throw. Just the fact that a lodged ball after a shot goes to AP.

EDIT: I'll rephrase that to "not clear in black-and-white".

The rule has already been referenced. It's about knowing what has happened and what the rules say.

6-4-3...Alternating-possession throw-ins shall be from the out-of-bounds spot nearest to where the ball was located. An alternating-possession throw-in shall result when:

d. A live ball lodges between the backboard and ring or comes to rest on the flange, unless a free throw or throw-in follows.


You don't need anything else. What we have is a free throw (the ball is live) coming to rest between the ring and backboard. If this is the last free throw, then no throw-in is to follow.

Chavez Wed Dec 23, 2009 11:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018 (Post 645166)
The rule has already been referenced. It's about knowing what has happened and what the rules say.

6-4-3...Alternating-possession throw-ins shall be from the out-of-bounds spot nearest to where the ball was located. An alternating-possession throw-in shall result when:

d. A live ball lodges between the backboard and ring or comes to rest on the flange, unless a free throw or throw-in follows.


You don't need anything else. What we have is a free throw (the ball is live) coming to rest between the ring and backboard. If this is the last free throw, then no throw-in is to follow.

THANKS! I think that makes it very clear.

just another ref Wed Dec 23, 2009 02:28pm

Never noticed this before. Is this not a contradiction?

6-4-3d: An alternating possession throw-in shall result when a live ball lodges between the backboard and ring or comes to rest on the flange, unless a free throw or throw-in follows.

9-2-8: The thrown ball shall not become lodged between the backboard and ring or come to rest on the flange before it touches or is touched by another player.

violation.....ball awarded to opponent.......etc. etc.

jdw3018 Wed Dec 23, 2009 02:35pm

Seems this is a specific throw-in violation. It does seem to contradict the wording in 6-4-3 which would seem to indicate all live balls that come to rest/get stuck go to A/P.

I can see making this exception, however, as in this case the ball is not passed directly onto the court where it can touch or be touched by a player. Throw-in violation.

Good find. 6-4-3 should probably note the additional exception in 9-2-8.

tjones1 Wed Dec 23, 2009 03:21pm

Probably should be noted in 6-4-3d that there's an exception. I agree 6-4-3 makes it sounds like all live balls that get stuck/come to rest go AP.

The only other thing I would add is 9-2-8 says before it touches or is touched by another player (i.e. before the throw-in has ended). Maybe the Fed's thinking is this is good enough and no exception is needed.

Interesting, good find!

bob jenkins Wed Dec 23, 2009 03:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 645269)
Never noticed this before. Is this not a contradiction?

6-4-3d: An alternating possession throw-in shall result when a live ball lodges between the backboard and ring or comes to rest on the flange, unless a free throw or throw-in follows.

9-2-8: The thrown ball shall not become lodged between the backboard and ring or come to rest on the flange before it touches or is touched by another player.

violation.....ball awarded to opponent.......etc. etc.

No, it's not a contradiction. 6-4-3 "unless a throw-in follows." 9-2-8 indicates that a throw-in follows.

tjones1 Wed Dec 23, 2009 03:27pm

bob,

I take that to mean if it gets lodged and a throw-in follows then you proceed to the throw-in... i.e. the second technical foul free throw gets lodged/comes to rest then you go to the throw-in at the division line, not the AP.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:52am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1