Shooting at own basket
Had a situation this last week and thought I'd pass it along to you.
Freshman girls game...A1 gets the ball in her backcourt and is being guarded by B1. A1 proceeds to layup the ball into her own basket. We awarded team B with two points and ball was given to team A after we straightened everything out.
QUESTION: If B1 had fouled A1 during the layup...what do you have? It didn't happen, but got me thinking.
Here's what I came up with. A1 is not attempting a shot since she is not shooting at her own basket. Since she is not attempting a shot, the ball becomes dead immediately upon the foul. The foul is charged to B1, the "basket" is waived off and then we go to the other end to shoot 1 & 1 (team A was in the bonus).
Am I correct in that interpretation of the rules?
|