The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2006, 10:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to AVONOH Send a message via Yahoo to AVONOH
I have a basketball rules/scoring. Here is the scenario:

A player from Team A is shooting the second of two free throws. She misses, and a player from Team B grabs the rebound and puts it back in Team A's basket.

How does this go into the scorebook? Is a Team A player awarded the points or is there some kind of special notation?

Thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2006, 10:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 271
It is recorded

as a team score, awarded to no player in particular.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 17, 2006, 11:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 226
Send a message via AIM to dave30
I believe the basket is awarded to the closest offensive player.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 18, 2006, 12:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally posted by dave30
I believe the basket is awarded to the closest offensive player.
Dave, look at rule 5-2-3
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 18, 2006, 01:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Re: It is recorded

Quote:
Originally posted by lmeadski
as a team score, awarded to no player in particular.
Yup, and depending on how the scorebook might be used for stats, you may want to add a special note about the basket being shot by a Team B member.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 18, 2006, 04:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,788
Quote:
Originally posted by truerookie
Quote:
Originally posted by dave30
I believe the basket is awarded to the closest offensive player.
Dave, look at rule 5-2-3
5-2-3 . . . If a player scores a field goal in the opponent's basket, it is not credited to a player, but is indicated in a footnote.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 18, 2006, 01:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to AVONOH Send a message via Yahoo to AVONOH
Where can I find a reference to this rule. Is it available on the Internet?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 18, 2006, 01:54pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally posted by AVONOH
Where can I find a reference to this rule. Is it available on the Internet?
Yup, it's available. Right above your post.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1