View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 17, 2009, 09:15pm
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdog5142 View Post
Had a situation this last week and thought I'd pass it along to you.

Freshman girls game...A1 gets the ball in her backcourt and is being guarded by B1. A1 proceeds to layup the ball into her own basket. We awarded team B with two points and ball was given to team A after we straightened everything out.

QUESTION: If B1 had fouled A1 during the layup...what do you have? It didn't happen, but got me thinking.

Here's what I came up with. A1 is not attempting a shot since she is not shooting at her own basket. Since she is not attempting a shot, the ball becomes dead immediately upon the foul. The foul is charged to B1, the "basket" is waived off and then we go to the other end to shoot 1 & 1 (team A was in the bonus).

Am I correct in that interpretation of the rules?
You reasoned it out correctly, but it is also detailed in the Case Book for you.

4.41.2 SITUATION: A1 becomes confused and throws the ball at the wrong
basket. A1 is fouled by B1 and the ball goes into the basket. Is this a successful
basket? If A1 missed, would A1 be awarded two free throws for the foul by B1?
RULING: No goal. The ball became dead when the foul occurred. When a player
throws at the opponent’s basket, it is not a try. If the team is in the bonus when
B1 fouled A1, A1 is given either a one-and-one attempt or two free throws at
Team A’s basket. If Team A was not in the bonus, then the ball is awarded to Team
A for a throw-in at the out-of-bounds spot nearest the foul. (7-5-4a)
Reply With Quote