The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 16, 2009, 05:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by representing View Post
could've sworn I posted something, was it deleted?

Rule book says:

Rule 9-9 BACKCOURT
Article 3

A player from the team not in control (defensive player or during a jump ball or throw-in) may legally jump from his/her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or backcourt.

So no, there is no backcourt violation. No team control during throw-ins, and the rulebook said you may jump from FC to BC while catching the ball mid-air.

9-9-3 only applies to a player from the team not in control (defense) or during a throw-in. They are the exceptions to rule 9-9-1. In the case of the OP, it is a violation
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rule Citation - Throw-in goes out-of-bounds whistleone Basketball 5 Fri Feb 27, 2009 10:34pm
Help with a rule citation? CoachCER Basketball 14 Sun Feb 08, 2009 10:49pm
FIBA - citation needed for counting the basket JugglingReferee Basketball 20 Mon Feb 02, 2009 11:36am
Rule Clarification and Citation cdoug Football 13 Thu Aug 21, 2008 10:06am
Backcourt ruling (NHFS rules) xxssmen Basketball 17 Wed Mar 14, 2007 01:35pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1