![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
![]() (And there's still weirder things that could happen that would result in a violation.)
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
Quote:
![]() (Maybe I should move this post the the Globetrotters thread)
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity) |
|
|||
|
could've sworn I posted something, was it deleted?
Rule book says: Rule 9-9 BACKCOURT Article 3 A player from the team not in control (defensive player or during a jump ball or throw-in) may legally jump from his/her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or backcourt. So no, there is no backcourt violation. No team control during throw-ins, and the rulebook said you may jump from FC to BC while catching the ball mid-air. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
9-9-3 only applies to a player from the team not in control (defense) or during a throw-in. They are the exceptions to rule 9-9-1. In the case of the OP, it is a violation |
|
||||
|
Quote:
2. There seems to be some misconception on this whole exception thing anyway. The fact that there's no team control during a throwin isn't really relevant to the application of the exception, because once the ball is caught in the air, team control is established along with FC status.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
2) 9-9-3 says that it doesn't matter where the player jumps from. He/she may legally jump from FC and land with one or both feet in the BC. It doesn't even matter where the first foot lands, as long as the second foot is in the BC, that player has in BC status. Just be ready to explain this to a coach if this happens
Last edited by representing; Wed Dec 16, 2009 at 05:18pm. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Rule Citation - Throw-in goes out-of-bounds | whistleone | Basketball | 5 | Fri Feb 27, 2009 10:34pm |
| Help with a rule citation? | CoachCER | Basketball | 14 | Sun Feb 08, 2009 10:49pm |
| FIBA - citation needed for counting the basket | JugglingReferee | Basketball | 20 | Mon Feb 02, 2009 11:36am |
| Rule Clarification and Citation | cdoug | Football | 13 | Thu Aug 21, 2008 10:06am |
| Backcourt ruling (NHFS rules) | xxssmen | Basketball | 17 | Wed Mar 14, 2007 01:35pm |