The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Aug 20, 2008, 10:04am
Official Forum Member

Rule Clarification and Citation

Hello all -

I'm still learning the rules (my 1st year) and I wanted some help with a rule. I think I remember reading somewhere that in NFHS rules once a receiver catches the ball by the side/end line and is "forced-out" by a defender it's an incomplete pass since there isn't a "force-out" rule in HS.

Here's my question: do I remember right and if so what rule is it? I re-read all of Rule 7 (specifically Art. 5, where I thought it'd be) a number of times and still didn't see it. (There's always the possibility I still missed it.)

Could you give a rookie a little help, please?
Old Wed Aug 20, 2008, 10:09am
Official Forum Member

Look at definition of a "catch" under rule 2

If a receiver would have completed the catch inbounds had the contact not occurred, it is a catch.
Old Wed Aug 20, 2008, 10:09am
Official Forum Member

There is a new rule in the NFL this year that gets rid of the force out, but it is alive and well at the HS level. The rule is 2.4.1. As you'll see repeated here a lot - learn Rule 2!
Old Wed Aug 20, 2008, 10:13am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock

Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdoug
... a receiver catches the ball by the side/end line and is "forced-out" by a defender it's an incomplete pass since there isn't a "force-out" rule in HS.
CANADIAN RULING:

Always a completed pass. They must still survive contact with the ground, however.
Old Wed Aug 20, 2008, 10:29am
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
CANADIAN RULING:

Always a completed pass. They must still survive contact with the ground, however.