Quote:
Originally Posted by cmcramer
Could someone please clarify this situation for me?
Defender slaps the hand of the offensive player while the hand is on the ball, during the shooting motion. (ie., Defender 'strips' ball from shooter as shooter raises ball up for a pull-up jumper. Contact is with all hand and ball - no wrist or arm.)
Is this a foul? I was gonna say "no" until I did a search here and found this quotation from a "most misunderstood rules" thread
"Hand is Part of the Ball- the D can always legally contact the O hand if the hand is in contact with the ball. However, it is widely accepted that a foul shall be called on a shot."
Now I'm confused! Thank you!
|
You may be misinterpreting the part that says "it is widely accepted that a foul shall be called on a shot". It might mean that it is widely believed that a foul SHOULD be called, even though actually this contact is legal. In other words, it might be saying that what is widely accepted is actually a myth.