The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Dec 09, 2009, 04:45pm
Official Forum Member

Communication issue

I need advice from some different officials -

Background - I am a JV coach - and I am a little loud - doesn't mean rude - but loud. I yell plays, directions, encouragements and corrections to my players. And sometimes I am a little loud with officials - (and before you get judgemental in 12 years as a HS coach I have 1 technical - and been warned 3 times to sit down and zip it - okay maybe 4)

Anyway - We played in a game last night that became VERY physical. I asked my captains to talk to the lead official because play was pretty bad around the hoop. so they asked if the official could watch physical play under the basket.

The response - loud enough for the bench to hear - "there is nothing to watch for- IF there was I would call it"

as the game progressed on there is a girl with a Major concussion, one with an elbow so swollen that she can't bend it, one with torn tendons in her shoulder and about 5 others that where all iced up at the end of the game (not all on my team)

When the elbow girl was thrown to the floor by her jersey right in front of the lead official I of course complained. She said there was no foul and threatened to throw me out. (no T given - No warning - Not asked to sit down)

What would be proper procedure to approach the association about this ref and this incident? or if I have this official again how do I properly approach them about handling very rough game play without putting them in the position of being on the defensive?

Thanks for any input
Old Wed Dec 09, 2009, 05:24pm
Official Forum Member