![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
It is true that a foul or violation makes the ball dead, not the officials whistle per a rules fundamental, but the play which we are discussing here is going in the reverse direction. We are talking rules here, not opinions. |
|
|||
|
No citation. Just the common sense that says while I am conducting an administrative procedure in which the ball is dead that another official handing the ball to a player isn't administering the throw in, it's simply handing a dead ball to a player.
If I grant a timeout just as an official is handing the ball to a player, but don't blow my whistle immediately, the ball never became live. In this instance, even though I didn't blow my whistle as the T is handing the ball, it never became live because I blew it dead again (even though I didn't blow my whistle right away). |
|
|||
|
Quote:
If you are comfortable telling your assignor that, then that's fine. It's up to you. Personally, I don't like screw-ups by the crew either, but when they happen, I'm d@mn sure going to follow the rules in dealing with them. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
When I was still in referee class to get my license, we had a state rules interpretor speak who also happened to becan assignor for one of the largest conferences in the Cleveland area. He closed his talk by saying, "there are correct calls and there are right calls. Good officials know the difference. Anyone can spew the correct call back from the rulebook. Common sense and experience will help you make the right call."
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Sadly, we now have "Big Joe" walk in and decide that such and such a rule isn't a good one and he isn't going to make that call or isn't going to enforce it or isn't going to have "his officials" make that call. That kind of behavior is very egotistical and downright sad. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Perhaps the Classic Case of "By the Book" vs. "Spirit of the Rules" if there ever was one. If memory serves, there is a Case Book play that you have stated you will ignore because "it is flat out wrong." (The case involved a player participating while not in the book). Nonetheless, the Rules Committee has determined that is the way that they want all of us to call the play. You indicated that you would live with your decision to ignore a Case Play if confronted by your assignor. In the situation in this OP, you are going to allow an OBVIOUS error by the officiating crew to punish a team who has done NOTHING AGAINST THE RULES!!! My fellow Buckeye from the North in this case is, in my opinion, much more correct about this situation. Our job is to make the game fair. This situation is clearly NOT FAIR to the team making the substitution. People wonder why coaches dislike referees. It is stupid situations such as this that fuel that fire. If you explained this situation to a group of 200 coaches (NOT during a game, but in a meeting setting), I can't imagine a single coach would EVER want this technical foul called!!! It is not a fair way to administer the game. The REFEREE CREW beckoned the player onto the floor. THE REFEREE CREW created six players on the floor. ONE MEMBER OF THE REFEREE CREW ATTEMPTED TO START PLAY. THE REFEREE CREW CANNOT penalize a team when ONE OF ITS OWN screwed the pooch by putting the ball in play early. As you indicated in the other thread concerning the Case Book play you will ignore and take the heat from your assignor, I will likewise take the heat from my assignor for following the "Spirit of the Rules." While I have a high regard for your knowledge of the Rules Book, I am disappointed that the "Spirit of the Rules" never has a place. For all of the younger officials (AND experienced officials!!!) reading this thread, hopefully you will see the incredible importance of taking the extra 2 to 3 seconds EVERY TIME you inbound the ball to make eye contact with your partner(s). Imagine a State Championship being decided by a Technical Foul being called in this situation on a substituation with 5 seconds left in a tie game. For the official so tied to the Rules Book (even though several posters have pointed to potential "By the Book" solutions) that they will call a Technical Foul in this case, I certainly do not want them doing my games (that I am either coaching or reffing). |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
It's not who you know, it's whom you know. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
If you don't use the moment that the administering official places the ball at the disposal of the thrower, making it live per 6-1-2b, as your point of no return and determination of when team members are "participating" (as defined by the NFHS in 10.5.3), then you have absolutely no standard by which to decide when it is too late to cancel all of the action. To further make my point, consider the following: Would you assess a T if the mistake was caught while: a. the thrower was holding the ball and yet to attempt to pass it inbounds b. the thrower had passed the ball, but no inbounds player had yet to touch it c. the throw-in pass had been caught inbounds by a teammate of the thrower d. the throw-in pass had been caught inbounds by an opponent of the thrower e. the throw-in pass had been caught inbounds by A2 and he had not yet dribbled f. same as e, except now the player had dribbled for 2 seconds g. same as f, except make it eight seconds h. play continued for only four seconds, but a player committed a foul i. play continued for ten seconds and a goal was scored by the team with six team members on the floor. j. same as i, but it took only two seconds for Team A to score a goal Where do you draw the line, if you don't follow the rules book and the case book? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Unless, of course, they are intentional or flagrant, right? Other than that, I agree.
__________________
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons - for thou art crunchy and taste good with ketchup! |
|
|||
|
If he's holding off his partner and his partner puts the ball in play anyway, I'm pretty sure he'll be whistling and stopping play so quickly nothing much can happen.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
|
Of course, you have a rules citation to support that statement, right?
|
|
|||
|
2-3 doesn't apply because there ARE rules that cover this situation.
Administer the T and hopefully, the crew and the players and the coach will do better next time. Beckon, wait... and COUNT. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Interesting situation | Refsmitty | Basketball | 28 | Wed Apr 29, 2009 08:48pm |
| Interesting situation | som44 | Basketball | 4 | Sat Mar 05, 2005 05:02pm |
| Interesting situation. | Jerry Blum | Basketball | 27 | Tue Feb 22, 2005 05:41pm |
| Interesting Situation 2 | Rar | Basketball | 14 | Mon Feb 21, 2005 03:17pm |
| Interesting situation | devdog69 | Basketball | 34 | Tue Mar 09, 2004 08:54am |