![]() |
|
|
|||
Once the officials screw up and put the ball in play while one team has six people on the court, there is nothing that can be done to avoid assessing a technical foul whether we like it or not. The rules simply require it.
True, that this was the mistake of the officiating crew for not communicating better, but the ball became live and that's the end of it. The technical foul is not charged to any specific individual. It is a TEAM technical foul per 10-1-6. |
|
|||
Quote:
Are you resetting the game clock to what it was prior to the throw-in and re-doing the throw-in as if the play never happened? What rules support do you have for that? |
|
|||
Quote:
If we have definite knowledge of time, we'll reset the clock. If not, we're moving on. We are after all only talking about a couple of seconds here. |
|
|||
Quote:
This is a game played by humans and officiated by humans. Mistakes are certain to occur. I believe that one should deal with them according to the prescribed methods, not as one simply feels like doing. |
|
|||
There are times when you simply gotta do what you gotta do. No T here.
If you feel that you must quote a rule to justify, this play is a poster child for 2-3.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Danger Will Robinson
2-3 states that "The referee shall make decisions on any points not specifically covered in the rules."
It is a slippery slope to use this rule to make the situation conform to one's sense of fairness when one perceives fairness to be at odds with a procedure specifically covered in the rules. 2-3 is not a royal charter, nor a grant of omnipotence to the R, nor are the rules writers authorizing a do-over. Oh, and if someone starts lecturing me to "don't effin" this that or the other thing as the first words out of his/her mouth in pregame, I'm going to have questions about his/her professionalism. |
|
|||
Are you kidding me? You have said some silly things, but this is one of the sillier ones in relation to the situation described. If the C blows his whistle and the sub is beckoned and the ding-dong T brings the ball in anyway, you're going to call a T for 6 players on the court? You're going to penalize the kids for an official's mistake. Brilliant.
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
||||
Quote:
Look, if the officials forget to count and 6 play, call the T. That's the coach's fault pure and simple. If, however, an official beckons a player onto the court and his teammate promptly leaves, there's no way I'm calling that T. The spirit and intent of this rule is to prevent a team from actually having 6 players play, not to penalize a coach for an official actually calling him onto the court. Rule support? The applicable Ts here are: 1. A sub coming in without being beckoned. This isn't applicable. 2. Having more than 5 players "participating simultaneously." Define "participating" for me here, because the play I'm envisioning does not have them all actively participating.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
TWEEEEEEEET! Hold on sparky (Glare at partner). ![]() No T from me either.
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did. |
|
|||
Quote:
One of our top clinicians in Illinois preaches that there will be no T's in this almost exact situation. It's about being fair. I make this call in a close varsity game, and it's back to Saturday morning B games from all assignors. |
|
|||
I would think that this would fall under the "intent" of the rule. No T from me on this one.
__________________
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
In the OP -- if the C still had his/her hand up, waiting for B1 to leave, then the ball never became live, despite U2's best efforts. No T, reset everything, administer the throw-in. If C dropped his hand, indicating play should resume, and the U2 administers the throw-in, then you have no choice but to assess the T. (Of course, maybe it's a stretch to assume C used proper mechanics. So, change the above to "if C knew before the ball became live that B1 hadn't left, no T. Otherwise T.") |
|
|||
Quote:
Whether C is using proscribed mechanics or not, if the ball is dead in his mind, he has the ability to say "I'm still holding up play for this to complete. The ball never became live." Obviously if I'm standing on the court with my hand up like I should be in the situation it's much easier to explain, but regardless, the ball is dead if I (as an official) want it to be. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Interesting situation | Refsmitty | Basketball | 28 | Wed Apr 29, 2009 08:48pm |
Interesting situation | som44 | Basketball | 4 | Sat Mar 05, 2005 05:02pm |
Interesting situation. | Jerry Blum | Basketball | 27 | Tue Feb 22, 2005 05:41pm |
Interesting Situation 2 | Rar | Basketball | 14 | Mon Feb 21, 2005 03:17pm |
Interesting situation | devdog69 | Basketball | 34 | Tue Mar 09, 2004 08:54am |