The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 05, 2009, 04:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by AKOFL View Post
I would like some carification on the last part. If other aspects of the error are correctable, the procedure to be followed is included among the duties of the officials. What does this meen exactly?
Just what it says. If any of the action falls under the purview of the five correctable errors listed in 2-10, then the officials shall take the proper action.

Note that a player with five fouls, but who has not yet been disqualified by notification to the coach from an official is not a wrong player attempting a FT. The NFHS has ruled that such a player is the proper player until being DQ'd.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 05, 2009, 04:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wasilla Ak
Posts: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Just what it says. If any of the action falls under the purview of the five correctable errors listed in 2-10, then the officials shall take the proper action.

Note that a player with five fouls, but who has not yet been disqualified by notification to the coach from an official is not a wrong player attempting a FT. The NFHS has ruled that such a player is the proper player until being DQ'd.
So can you think of a for instance for my simple mind. I had thought of the free-throw but had drawn the same conclusion as you stated. Just trying to get a hold on what this means in real life.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 05, 2009, 05:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Sure, consider that a player with five fouls remains in the game for several minutes. During this time some other situation occurs which is a correctable error and this gets the attention of the officials and the table crew. At this point the scorer notices that the player should have been DQ'd a few minutes ago, but wasn't. The rule tells you to take care of the DQ now and allow all other action to count, with the exception of the pending correctable error. The rules-writers wanted to make it clear that a correctable error is never ignored because of some other factor. That's all that this is saying.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 06, 2009, 12:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wasilla Ak
Posts: 500
Got it. I was trying to read to much into it. Thanks Nevada
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 06, 2009, 08:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Somewhere on the earth
Posts: 1,601
Arrow Scorebook not doing job

How was play able to continue, if the one player was DQ'd due to having 5 fouls?

I have done both scoreboard/timer & scorebook operations for the past 4 years at my Alma Mater. Every time I learned of a player having 5 fouls I immediately let the coach & floor officials know of the DQ.

Sounds like to me that those doing scoreboard/timer & scorebook need to learn their positions.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 06, 2009, 08:37pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,378
If I Didn't Say It, You All Know That Mark Padgett Would Have Said It ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by chseagle View Post
Sounds like to me that those doing scoreboard/timer & scorebook need to learn their positions.
Sounds like they need to read the Kama Sutra.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 06, 2009, 08:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Somewhere on the earth
Posts: 1,601
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Sounds like they need to read the Kama Sutra.
Not only read the Kama Sutra, but they also need to be properly trained how to do table operations.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 07, 2009, 02:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by chseagle View Post
How was play able to continue, if the one player was DQ'd due to having 5 fouls?

I have done both scoreboard/timer & scorebook operations for the past 4 years at my Alma Mater. Every time I learned of a player having 5 fouls I immediately let the coach & floor officials know of the DQ.

Sounds like to me that those doing scoreboard/timer & scorebook need to learn their positions.
It happens. As evidenced here.
Names redacted in the following situation:

3-pointer from the top of the key made it a 71-66 game with 2:39 to play. But the [Xs] watched as the [Ys] struck for five straight points in a 30-second span, four by [Y1] and a free throw by [Y2], tying the game at 71-71 with 2:01 on the clock.

[X1] hit a pair of free throws as part of his 14-point fourth quarter, but [Y2] and [Y1] answered right back with back-to-back buckets, finally giving [Team Y] the lead at 75-73 with just over a minute left in the game.

Ironically, the [Ys] should never have owned the lead. [Y1] re-entered the game with 3:02 remaining, but he had committed his fifth foul earlier in the fourth. It wasn't until he picked up his sixth foul that the officials claimed responsibility for the mistake and did not punish [Team Y], so [Y1]'s six points during the 9-2 run remained a key factor.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 07, 2009, 03:10am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Just the facts, please

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
It happens. As evidenced here.
Names redacted in the following situation:

3-pointer from the top of the key made it a 71-66 game with 2:39 to play. But the [Xs] watched as the [Ys] struck for five straight points in a 30-second span, four by [Y1] and a free throw by [Y2], tying the game at 71-71 with 2:01 on the clock.

[X1] hit a pair of free throws as part of his 14-point fourth quarter, but [Y2] and [Y1] answered right back with back-to-back buckets, finally giving [Team Y] the lead at 75-73 with just over a minute left in the game.

Ironically, the [Ys] should never have owned the lead. [Y1] re-entered the game with 3:02 remaining, but he had committed his fifth foul earlier in the fourth. It wasn't until he picked up his sixth foul that the officials claimed responsibility for the mistake and did not punish [Team Y], so [Y1]'s six points during the 9-2 run remained a key factor.
This part is speculation. Y6 might have performed just as well. Who knows?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 07, 2009, 07:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wherever the Army sends me this year
Posts: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
It happens. As evidenced here.
Names redacted in the following situation:

3-pointer from the top of the key made it a 71-66 game with 2:39 to play. But the [Xs] watched as the [Ys] struck for five straight points in a 30-second span, four by [Y1] and a free throw by [Y2], tying the game at 71-71 with 2:01 on the clock.

[X1] hit a pair of free throws as part of his 14-point fourth quarter, but [Y2] and [Y1] answered right back with back-to-back buckets, finally giving [Team Y] the lead at 75-73 with just over a minute left in the game.

Ironically, the [Ys] should never have owned the lead. [Y1] re-entered the game with 3:02 remaining, but he had committed his fifth foul earlier in the fourth. It wasn't until he picked up his sixth foul that the officials claimed responsibility for the mistake and did not punish [Team Y], so [Y1]'s six points during the 9-2 run remained a key factor.
What would lead the officials to think they made a mistake here? I am guessing that when he was assessed his fifth foul earlier in the quarter, the improper procedure was used and the coach and player were not notified? If Y1 fouled out and the coach/player were properly notified, then couldn't the officials assess that the Y Coach was unsportsmanlike by re-entering Y1, knowing he had already committed 5 fouls? I'm confused on this one and would ask for clarification.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No sub for fouled out player Loudwhistle Basketball 20 Mon Dec 07, 2009 07:38pm
Player fouled out... Idaho Basketball 3 Sun Nov 18, 2007 02:40pm
T to a fouled out player QuebecRef87 Basketball 18 Thu Feb 24, 2005 01:34pm
A Player who fouled out still playing..... dsimp8 Basketball 6 Thu Jan 27, 2005 01:51am
Disqualified player gets fouled cropduster Basketball 17 Mon Sep 29, 2003 08:19am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1