![]() |
|
|
|||
In reference to the situation, please assume the following:
The officials should have, but did not, check to see if the coach had five available players. The officials should not have, but did, put the ball in play without checking. Now the question remains. Do you stop play and assess a technical while only four are on the floor? Say you do and then find out that the coach's only available player became ill during the timeout and is not available now. Now you have to say you take back the 'T". That just doesn't flow, does it? I say that when the fifth returns, then you can "discover" that all available players didn't return at the same time and you can whack him then. Actually, by rule, assuming that the fifth just forgot he was still in the game and didn't return, he could never return without penalty, could he????? Now, if he became unavailable because he had to change a bloody uniform and could not before the TO ended, I say he could return at the next opportunity to "sub in". |
|
|||
Quote:
If he tells you he doesn't have five available players, then just don't assess the T. This isn't likely to happen. Again, the T is not for the 5th player returning, it's for the 5th player not returning with the others. |
|
|||
Quote:
And, I agree with whoever said that the rule SHOULD BE that the team just continues to play with 4, but that's not what the rule IS.. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Bittersweet Return | BBall_Junkie | Basketball | 8 | Wed Dec 12, 2007 09:33am |
Should the MLB return to the balloon?? | Bassman | Baseball | 29 | Sun Aug 19, 2007 02:28am |
NE/BUF INT return | AndrewMcCarthy | Football | 2 | Mon Sep 11, 2006 07:31pm |
Runners return? | your boss | Baseball | 5 | Tue Jun 06, 2006 08:01am |
The return of the Davism | Mark Padgett | Basketball | 1 | Wed Apr 24, 2002 08:28am |