The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 25, 2009, 02:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 277
Need help on POI interp

I know this is a bit winded, but I request your honest comments. (I can take it)

The other day in our pool meeting, we were reviewing a question in our study club…

Question: Team A is making a throw-in after a violation, and a double personal foul is called
during the throw-in. Because there is no team control until a throw-in has ended, which team
should get the ball?
Answer: In this situation, if there was a throw-in and the ball was at the disposal of the thrower,
then 4-36-2b which states: Play shall be resumed with a free throw or a throw-in when the
interruption occurred during this activity or if a team is entitled to such, would apply. If the throwin
had ended and Team A was in control, then 4-36-2 which states: Play shall be resumed with a
throw-in to the team that was in control at a spot nearest to where the ball was located when the
interruption occurred, would apply.

To me this is saying that Team A retains the throw in. However, most of our pool leaders seemed to think that it should be an AP throw-in, sighting 4-36-2c. I argued that if this were true then an official’s accidental whistle during a throw-in would also mean an AP throw-in in this situation. That could mean the other team might get the ball, because of the officials screw up. Their rebuttal was that you would not do that because it’s a common sense issue. I said so is giving the ball to the original throw-in team during a double foul.
Rule (4-36) encompasses both situations. I am still fairly new to the pool so, I let it go. It was obvious the “vets” felt they were right and didn’t want to talk about it anymore.
I looked through everything I can in the rule book and case book and there are plenty of scenarios that confirm my interpretation to a degree. But nothing that gives the exact scenario and says in clear plain English that Team A with retain the throw-in and that throw-in is the POI.

So, my questions to the forum are…
1) Am I correct that the POI is the Team A throw-in?
2) Is there an interp or clarification out there anywhere or a case book sitch I may have missed that clearly spells this out?
3) Am I out of line or is it dangerous to my officiating carrier to challenge our pool heads on rule interpretations like this? Should I just nod and keep my mouth shut?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
INT Interp tcannizzo Softball 32 Sun Aug 06, 2006 08:33am
college interp please cmathews Basketball 3 Sat Jan 28, 2006 06:43pm
New Interp wrong? Nevadaref Basketball 13 Wed Oct 13, 2004 01:49am
FED Interp, please? JJ Baseball 28 Fri Mar 23, 2001 01:58am
Fed Pitching Interp JJ Baseball 10 Tue Feb 13, 2001 12:37pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1