Need help on POI interp
I know this is a bit winded, but I request your honest comments. (I can take it)
The other day in our pool meeting, we were reviewing a question in our study club…
Question: Team A is making a throw-in after a violation, and a double personal foul is called
during the throw-in. Because there is no team control until a throw-in has ended, which team
should get the ball?
Answer: In this situation, if there was a throw-in and the ball was at the disposal of the thrower,
then 4-36-2b which states: Play shall be resumed with a free throw or a throw-in when the
interruption occurred during this activity or if a team is entitled to such, would apply. If the throwin
had ended and Team A was in control, then 4-36-2 which states: Play shall be resumed with a
throw-in to the team that was in control at a spot nearest to where the ball was located when the
interruption occurred, would apply.
To me this is saying that Team A retains the throw in. However, most of our pool leaders seemed to think that it should be an AP throw-in, sighting 4-36-2c. I argued that if this were true then an official’s accidental whistle during a throw-in would also mean an AP throw-in in this situation. That could mean the other team might get the ball, because of the officials screw up. Their rebuttal was that you would not do that because it’s a common sense issue. I said so is giving the ball to the original throw-in team during a double foul.
Rule (4-36) encompasses both situations. I am still fairly new to the pool so, I let it go. It was obvious the “vets” felt they were right and didn’t want to talk about it anymore.
I looked through everything I can in the rule book and case book and there are plenty of scenarios that confirm my interpretation to a degree. But nothing that gives the exact scenario and says in clear plain English that Team A with retain the throw-in and that throw-in is the POI.
So, my questions to the forum are…
1) Am I correct that the POI is the Team A throw-in?
2) Is there an interp or clarification out there anywhere or a case book sitch I may have missed that clearly spells this out?
3) Am I out of line or is it dangerous to my officiating carrier to challenge our pool heads on rule interpretations like this? Should I just nod and keep my mouth shut?
|