Quote:
Originally Posted by Vinski
So, my questions to the forum are…
1) Am I correct that the POI is the Team A throw-in?
2) Is there an interp or clarification out there anywhere or a case book sitch I may have missed that clearly spells this out?
3) Am I out of line or is it dangerous to my officiating carrier to challenge our pool heads on rule interpretations like this? Should I just nod and keep my mouth shut?
|
1. You are 100% correct. I don't
think that. I
KNOW it.
2. This was a rule change in the 2005-06 season. The comment in the back of the rules book for that revision made it clear. As has already been posted, the Case Book does not have a play for a double foul during a throw-in, but does have one for during a FT. It is 4.19.8 Sit D. The ruling is to resume at the POI with the same FT attempt and the citation given is 4-36-2b. However, as there is both player and team control during this situation, this is problematic. In fact, the priority of the a, b, c POI application is disturbed. If we were to go with a and apply the administration set forth therein, then we would skip the FT and resume with a throw-in. So it seems that the NFHS needs to reverse a and b in 4-36. The throw-in or FT activity has to take precedence over the team control factor.
3. You are not out of line, but it probably would be dangerous to your advancement in that area to tell these vets that they are dead wrong. You would be correct, but probably not wise. I feel sorry for you to have to deal with idiots such as those.