The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 19, 2009, 05:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Just a generally useful tip: Often the answer to exactly when some situation or condition begins and ends, like team control and player control, is found in Rule 4. If you haven't had a good look at Rule 4 yet, you'd be well served to read it thoroughly before carrying on with any other rules.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 12, 2010, 01:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 622
Another team control question:

Try by A1... A2 or B1 commits a foul.

If the ball goes in, basket counts, in both situations correct? And are there any free throws shot or simply ball out of bounds at spot and no free throws because no team control on a try or tap for field goal?

Is the above all correct?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 12, 2010, 01:40pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
Another team control question:

Try by A1... A2 or B1 commits a foul.

If the ball goes in, basket counts, in both situations correct? And are there any free throws shot or simply ball out of bounds at spot and no free throws because no team control on a try or tap for field goal?

Is the above all correct?
Basket counts. If either team is in the bonus, shoot the bonus free throws. If not, if:

A2 fouls, then Team B will have an unrestricted throw in on the endline
B1 fouls, then Team A will inbound the ball at the spot out of bounds nearest to where the foul occurred.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 12, 2010, 01:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
Another team control question:

Try by A1
Insufficient information to answer the question.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 13, 2010, 12:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 622
Sorry Bob. Basically, you shoot free throws on any foul if either team is in the bonus when there is no team control ... and there is no team control on a try or a tap?

In this case there was a try, tap (attempt for a fg) and if you have a foul on either team during the try you would shot if in the bonus. Correct?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 13, 2010, 01:18pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,404
Control Yourself ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
There is no team control on a try or a tap?
Johnny Ringo: Be careful how you word your posts. There are rookies out there that may misconstrue what you post.

NFHS 4-12-3-A: Team control continues until: The ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 13, 2010, 01:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 622
Correct. Sorry about that ... Once the ball is in flight (for a try or a tap) - team control stops and any foul after that point results in free throws either way if the bonus is reached.

Would that be a correct statement?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 13, 2010, 04:44pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Post

I tell the HS kids I train to officiate to memorize these two statements:

1) during a period of no team control, team control is established when a player establishes player control

2) player control is defined as a player holding or dribbling a live ball inbounds

I find these statements most helpful.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 13, 2010, 05:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo View Post
Correct. Sorry about that ... Once the ball is in flight (for a try or a tap) - team control stops and any foul after that point results in free throws either way if the bonus is reached.

Would that be a correct statement?
Yes, that's correct. Your OP just said "during a try" so it didn't contain the needed information (was the ball in flight or not) in the case where the foul was by A2.

In the case where the foul was by B1, the OP also didn't say whether the foul was against airborne shooter A1.

Last edited by bob jenkins; Sat Mar 13, 2010 at 05:29pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Player Control and Team Control fouls MelbRef Basketball 15 Mon Dec 15, 2008 01:43pm
team control signal for NFHS zebraman Basketball 28 Wed Oct 11, 2006 09:51am
Team control exception on throw ins Buckley11 Basketball 18 Fri Nov 04, 2005 08:47am
Team Control during a free throw? FrankHtown Basketball 15 Wed Oct 19, 2005 08:31am
Player control vs Team control foul QuebecRef87 Basketball 6 Wed Jan 26, 2005 07:42am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1