![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Just a generally useful tip: Often the answer to exactly when some situation or condition begins and ends, like team control and player control, is found in Rule 4. If you haven't had a good look at Rule 4 yet, you'd be well served to read it thoroughly before carrying on with any other rules.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
|
Another team control question:
Try by A1... A2 or B1 commits a foul. If the ball goes in, basket counts, in both situations correct? And are there any free throws shot or simply ball out of bounds at spot and no free throws because no team control on a try or tap for field goal? Is the above all correct? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
A2 fouls, then Team B will have an unrestricted throw in on the endline B1 fouls, then Team A will inbound the ball at the spot out of bounds nearest to where the foul occurred. |
|
|||
|
Sorry Bob. Basically, you shoot free throws on any foul if either team is in the bonus when there is no team control ... and there is no team control on a try or a tap?
In this case there was a try, tap (attempt for a fg) and if you have a foul on either team during the try you would shot if in the bonus. Correct? |
|
|||
|
Control Yourself ...
Johnny Ringo: Be careful how you word your posts. There are rookies out there that may misconstrue what you post.
NFHS 4-12-3-A: Team control continues until: The ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
Not Sure That is Right?
[QUOTE=Snaqwells;637095]The difference is that in 9.9.1D, the player catches the ball in the air after it was touched. When it is touched, the throwin ends. When he catches it, player control and team control are established. Since he has FC status when he catches it (he jumped from the FC), it's a violation when he lands in the BC. The exception only applies if the airborne catch is the touch that ends the throwin.
In 4.12.6B, player/team control isn't established until the ball and player are both in the BC. Does this help? Not sure this is correct High School wise. When touched, yes throw in ends. This DOES end the throwin, but DOESN'T establish Team Control. He caught the ball in the air, so where he started doesn't matter when it is thrown from out of bounds. He has Team Control in Backcourt. 10 Second Count begins. NO Backcourt Violation. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
[QUOTE=Rags43;668170]
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
[quote=Rags43;668170]
Quote:
The rule SHOULD be that team control is established when a player is dribbling or holding the ball and has both feet in contact with the floor....but it is not.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Player Control and Team Control fouls | MelbRef | Basketball | 15 | Mon Dec 15, 2008 01:43pm |
| team control signal for NFHS | zebraman | Basketball | 28 | Wed Oct 11, 2006 09:51am |
| Team control exception on throw ins | Buckley11 | Basketball | 18 | Fri Nov 04, 2005 08:47am |
| Team Control during a free throw? | FrankHtown | Basketball | 15 | Wed Oct 19, 2005 08:31am |
| Player control vs Team control foul | QuebecRef87 | Basketball | 6 | Wed Jan 26, 2005 07:42am |