The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 10, 2009, 01:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 381
I could even think of a situation where a coach might attempt to employ this strategy...down 5 with 1 second left in the game....you aren't getting two shots off in one second obviously, but if you can draw team B into a tech then you could put two on the board with no time coming off...now you have the ball at half court, down 3 with one second left...you have a helluva a lot better chance that B1 will take the bait than you do scoring 5 pts in 1 second otherwise...now I agree that B1 should know better than to reach through, but to me an obvious attempt to draw an opponent into a technical foul should be penalized as unsporting and I believe the definition of unsporting foul allows you that latitude...
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 11, 2009, 09:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Quote:
Originally Posted by slow whistle View Post
I could even think of a situation where a coach might attempt to employ this strategy...down 5 with 1 second left in the game....you aren't getting two shots off in one second obviously, but if you can draw team B into a tech then you could put two on the board with no time coming off...now you have the ball at half court, down 3 with one second left...you have a helluva a lot better chance that B1 will take the bait than you do scoring 5 pts in 1 second otherwise...now I agree that B1 should know better than to reach through, but to me an obvious attempt to draw an opponent into a technical foul should be penalized as unsporting and I believe the definition of unsporting foul allows you that latitude...
If I am up 5 (4 for that matter) with one second, my players are nowhere near the throw in.

We had 2 FTs with 6 seconds left up by 4 . I cleared the lane and had my players stand inbounds by the bench. Not for the reason of the topic, but because I have varsity girls and I've seen plenty of enough dumb things happen. Clock runs out before/if I needed to throw in.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 11, 2009, 05:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachP View Post
If I am up 5 (4 for that matter) with one second, my players are nowhere near the throw in.

We had 2 FTs with 6 seconds left up by 4 . I cleared the lane and had my players stand inbounds by the bench. Not for the reason of the topic, but because I have varsity girls and I've seen plenty of enough dumb things happen. Clock runs out before/if I needed to throw in.
Good move, but we both know that not all coaches are that smart....and even for those that are, we both know that players don't always do what they are told!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 11, 2009, 06:35pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by slow whistle View Post
Good move, but we both know that not all coaches are that smart....and even for those that are, we both know that players don't always do what they are told!
And it's not our job to protect them if they aren't or don't.

If A1 places the ball on the floor and wipes her hands on her shorts, are you going to give her a T? How obvious does it have to be? It's too subjective, IMO, and there's no precedent for calling it this way.

The T on B1 is much easier to explain, and justify, because it's concrete. What's the coach going to say, "she tricked her into it!" Really?

If you see it coming, then hit your whistle as soon as B1 reaches across and give the warning (assuming they haven't burned that already).
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 11, 2009, 06:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
For those debating the merits of charging any technical fouls in this situation (thrower purposely places the ball on the floor OOB within the designated throw-in spot and the defender reaches across the boundary plane and grabs the ball), please consider these rules:


10-3-10 A player shall not:... Reach through the throw-in boundary-line plane and touch or dislodge the ball as in 9-2 Penalty 3.

9-2 Penalty 3.
If an opponent(s) of the thrower reaches through the throw-in boundary line plane and touches or dislodges the ball while in possession of the thrower or being passed to a teammate outside the boundary line (as in 7-5-7), a technical foul shall be charged to the offender. No warning for delay required. See 10-3-10 Penalty.

So, obviously one must consider what constitutes the ball being "in possession of the thrower" when deciding if a technical foul would be proper.

Please carry-on now.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 11, 2009, 07:14pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Good point, NV.
D.O.G. warning and that's it. I believe that restriction doesn't end until the ball is released on the throwin pass (heading out in a sec to grab the book and check). That said, if the D.O.G. warning has already been issued to B, you've got the T.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 11, 2009, 09:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,198
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
If you see it coming, then hit your whistle as soon as B1 reaches across and give the warning (assuming they haven't burned that already).

Can't do that. There's a specific case play that if contact is made, you can't give a warning by blowing the whistle early.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 13, 2009, 04:53pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Can't do that. There's a specific case play that if contact is made, you can't give a warning by blowing the whistle early.
I tried to find this case play and couldn't. Guidance please?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 13, 2009, 08:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,198
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I tried to find this case play and couldn't. Guidance please?
10.3.10D. And, I agree with Camron's wording -- from the case "...it is considered all the same act and the end result is penalized."
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 13, 2009, 07:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Can't do that. There's a specific case play that if contact is made, you can't give a warning by blowing the whistle early.
I don't think it says exactly says that. What it does say is tha if the player reaches across and touches the ball. The referee can't blow the whistle and choose to only penalize the first act by declaring that the ball was dead at the time the player crossed the line...the ball was still live (by interpreation)....they must penalize the entire thing as one action. The ref can't intercept the swat just in time to avoid the T.

However, if the action of crossing and touching are so widely seperated in time that the official clearly blows the whistle before the ball is touched (likely in a second motion or recoil), the player has only touched a dead ball. Case doesn't apply....it is not the same action.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
throw-in after double personal during free throw closetotheedge Basketball 26 Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:39am
3 man mechanic on sideline throw in below free throw line extended!!!! jritchie Basketball 10 Tue Nov 01, 2005 02:43pm
Throw-in spot after throw-in violation zebraman Basketball 6 Sun Dec 12, 2004 08:09pm
Throw in Bizket786 Basketball 10 Thu Oct 21, 2004 01:10pm
Throw-in 1-2-3-4-5 PP Basketball 10 Fri Nov 09, 2001 03:51am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1