![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
For those debating the merits of charging any technical fouls in this situation (thrower purposely places the ball on the floor OOB within the designated throw-in spot and the defender reaches across the boundary plane and grabs the ball), please consider these rules:
10-3-10 A player shall not:... Reach through the throw-in boundary-line plane and touch or dislodge the ball as in 9-2 Penalty 3. 9-2 Penalty 3. If an opponent(s) of the thrower reaches through the throw-in boundary line plane and touches or dislodges the ball while in possession of the thrower or being passed to a teammate outside the boundary line (as in 7-5-7), a technical foul shall be charged to the offender. No warning for delay required. See 10-3-10 Penalty. So, obviously one must consider what constitutes the ball being "in possession of the thrower" when deciding if a technical foul would be proper. Please carry-on now.
|
|
||||
|
Good point, NV.
D.O.G. warning and that's it. I believe that restriction doesn't end until the ball is released on the throwin pass (heading out in a sec to grab the book and check). That said, if the D.O.G. warning has already been issued to B, you've got the T.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Can't do that. There's a specific case play that if contact is made, you can't give a warning by blowing the whistle early. |
|
|||
|
10.3.10D. And, I agree with Camron's wording -- from the case "...it is considered all the same act and the end result is penalized."
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
However, if the action of crossing and touching are so widely seperated in time that the official clearly blows the whistle before the ball is touched (likely in a second motion or recoil), the player has only touched a dead ball. Case doesn't apply....it is not the same action.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| throw-in after double personal during free throw | closetotheedge | Basketball | 26 | Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:39am |
| 3 man mechanic on sideline throw in below free throw line extended!!!! | jritchie | Basketball | 10 | Tue Nov 01, 2005 02:43pm |
| Throw-in spot after throw-in violation | zebraman | Basketball | 6 | Sun Dec 12, 2004 08:09pm |
| Throw in | Bizket786 | Basketball | 10 | Thu Oct 21, 2004 01:10pm |
| Throw-in 1-2-3-4-5 | PP | Basketball | 10 | Fri Nov 09, 2001 03:51am |