The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2009, 01:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Ooh, that's a good one.

I'm going to say that this isn't covered in the rules and rule according to what seems fair to me, as authorized by 2-3.

In losing possession before completing the throw-in, A1 would have had to violate, either a 5-second violation or a throw-in violation to go fetch the ball. So I'm going to penalize A for a violation, awarding B the ball at the OOB spot.

I can see arguing the other way: B2 violated by reaching across the plane to get the ball, and B2's violation occurred before A1 had the chance to violate.

But I think A1 screwed up first, even if it wasn't yet a violation, and that was the occasion for B2 violating. I'm disinclined to reward A with another throw in.

Did you construct this, or find it somewhere? Or did it really happen?
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2009, 02:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,842
I'd say violation on A as it is the same as passing/bouncing a ball inbounds and having the ball strike OB before entering the court.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2009, 02:19pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
To me, this is similar to the RPP play where the official puts the ball on the floor for a throwin for A, and B1 comes running over and steps through and grabs the ball thinking they have the throwin. Violation on B.

In the OP, the player is allowed to dribble the ball during a spot throwin, so until they violate, it's nothing.

I've got a D.O.G. warning for B for reaching across the plane during a throwin.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2009, 02:33pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post

I've got a D.O.G. warning for B for reaching across the plane during a throwin.
9-2-10: The opponent of the thrower shall not have any part of his person through the.........plane until the ball has been released on a throw-in pass.

Ball has been released. Not intentionally, I understand. But if the ball has left the designated throw-in spot, there is no way for A1 to legally recover it. I see this either as a legal play by B1 or a violation on A1 for failing to pass the ball directly onto the court.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2009, 02:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
9-2-10: The opponent of the thrower shall not have any part of his person through the.........plane until the ball has been released on a throw-in pass.

Ball has been released.
But not on a throw-in pass.

For me, if the ball is far enough away that A must leave the spot, then it's a violation on A. Otherwise, it's a T on B.

See (new) 9.2.1B, plus the "A1 fumbles the FT" case.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2009, 03:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,086
The first thing that came to mind, as Bob stated, was the free throw violation case. I have a violation on A1. However, if A1 had the privilege of running the end line, you would have a T on B2.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2009, 03:05pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indianaref View Post
The first thing that came to mind, as Bob stated, was the free throw violation case. I have a violation on A1. However, if A1 had the privilege of running the end line, you would have a T on B2.
I have to ask. What's the violation on A? What did he do wrong? Are we assuming here the the ball was so far outside the spot that A would have to leave it to retrieve it?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2009, 02:20pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by fullor30 View Post
I'd say violation on A as it is the same as passing/bouncing a ball inbounds and having the ball strike OB before entering the court.
Dribbling is ok, and I don't know of any rule against fumbling. This doesn't become a violation, IMO, until the ball bounces in bounds or A1 steps outside the designated spot.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2009, 02:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 277
I believe we have a violation on A1 for not throwing the ball directly onto the court.
Rule 7-6-2.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2009, 02:48pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
9-2-10: The opponent of the thrower shall not have any part of his person through the.........plane until the ball has been released on a throw-in pass.
Ball has been released. Not intentionally, I understand. But if the ball has left the designated throw-in spot, there is no way for A1 to legally recover it. I see this either as a legal play by B1 or a violation on A1 for failing to pass the ball directly onto the court.
Why did you stop highlighting too early? I fixed it for you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vinski View Post
I believe we have a violation on A1 for not throwing the ball directly onto the court.
Rule 7-6-2.
Always listen to bob. While the ball was released, it wasn't released for a pass. "Dribbling" is explicitly allowed. If B1 reached in and stole the dribble, you'd have a T.
If the player started to throw then attempted to pull it back, fumbled, and the ball was bouncing OOB within the throwin spot, wouldn't you allow them to grab it?

Take away the defender reaching across and grabbing it, are you going to call the violation on the thrower?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2009, 02:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Take away the defender reaching across and grabbing it, are you going to call the violation on the thrower?
See post #2. Yes, either 5 seconds or for stepping out of the throw-in spot.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2009, 03:01pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
See post #2. Yes, either 5 seconds or for stepping out of the throw-in spot.
Okay, but the OP says nothing about either of those happening. It says the ball bounced out, but we don't know how far. If, as Bob alludes to, it bounces so far that A would have to violate in order to get to it, I can see the violation being called on A.

If, however, A1 can reach it without moving from the spot (quite possible if the thrower is remotely taller than a squirrel), then it's not a violation until A1 steps too far, the ball goes in bounds, or 5 seconds elapses.

I'm not going to penalize A prematurely simply because B1 committed a violation. A may have recovered otherwise.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2009, 06:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Always listen to bob. While the ball was released, it wasn't released for a pass. "Dribbling" is explicitly allowed. If B1 reached in and stole the dribble, you'd have a T.
If the player started to throw then attempted to pull it back, fumbled, and the ball was bouncing OOB within the throwin spot, wouldn't you allow them to grab it?

Take away the defender reaching across and grabbing it, are you going to call the violation on the thrower?
Makes sense. Thanks for breaking down like that.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2009, 10:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Why did you stop highlighting too early? I fixed it for you.



Always listen to bob. While the ball was released, it wasn't released for a pass. "Dribbling" is explicitly allowed. If B1 reached in and stole the dribble, you'd have a T.
If the player started to throw then attempted to pull it back, fumbled, and the ball was bouncing OOB within the throwin spot, wouldn't you allow them to grab it?

Take away the defender reaching across and grabbing it, are you going to call the violation on the thrower?
Not so fast.

What is the definition of a pass? A ball that is thrown, batted, or rolled to another player. If it goes to another player, isn't that essentially a pass? Since it was on a throwin, doesn't that make it a throw-in pass?

If the ball leaves the area of the thrower, I'm most likely deeming it a pass. If it bounces OOB away from the spot, then it is a throw-in violation.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Mon Nov 09, 2009 at 10:27pm.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2009, 10:28pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Not so fast.

What is the definition of a pass? A ball that is released and basically goes to another player. If it goes to another player, isn't that, by definition, a pass? Since it was on a throwin, doesn't that make it a throw-in pass?

If the ball leaves the area of the thrower, I'm most likely deeming it a pass. If it bounces OOB away from the spot, then it is a throw-in violation.
If it's just floating around in the throwin spot, are you going to consider it a pass just because the defense reaches in and gets it? By that definition, my sitch with A1 dribbling during the throwin and B1 reaching across and stealing it would make be a throwin violation on A1.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
throw-in after double personal during free throw closetotheedge Basketball 26 Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:39am
3 man mechanic on sideline throw in below free throw line extended!!!! jritchie Basketball 10 Tue Nov 01, 2005 02:43pm
Throw-in spot after throw-in violation zebraman Basketball 6 Sun Dec 12, 2004 08:09pm
Throw in Bizket786 Basketball 10 Thu Oct 21, 2004 01:10pm
Throw-in 1-2-3-4-5 PP Basketball 10 Fri Nov 09, 2001 03:51am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1