The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 29, 2009, 09:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
Situation:

Defender has obtained legal guarding position one foot from the sideline. Offensive player contacts defensive player, knocking him down, but is able to get his head and shoulders around the defender near the sideline. Is this a block or a charge?

Ruling:

Despite the fact that the offensive player squeezed around the defender and was able to get his head and shoulders around him, when there is less than three feet of space between a defender and the sideline the offensive player is responsible for the contact. This is a CHARGE. (RULE 4 SECTION 7 ART 2C)

(Situation that has been discussed locally)

-Josh
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A question on a play and a mechanics question. aevans410 Baseball 11 Mon May 12, 2008 09:23am
two questions - start of half question and free throw question hoopguy Basketball 6 Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:12pm
Rule Question and Mechanics Question Stair-Climber Softball 15 Fri May 06, 2005 06:44am
Over the back Question? Sorry mistyped my first question CoaachJF Basketball 15 Thu Feb 27, 2003 03:18pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1