The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 27, 2009, 08:07pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 16,913
IAABO Sportorial Question ???

The following question appeared in the October/November 2009 issue of the IAABO Sportorial:

Question: A1 picks his pivot foot up. What can A1 do before the pivot foot returns to the floor?
Answer: Pass or try. (4.44.3a)

Can't A1 request a timeout?

Here's the citation, if that helps:
4.44.3 SITUATION A: A1 jumps to try for goal. B1 also jumps and: (a) slaps the ball out of A1ís hands; (b) touches the ball but does not prevent A1 from releasing the ball; (c) touches the ball and A1 returns to the floor holding the ball; or (d) touches the ball and A1 drops it to the floor and touches it first after it bounces. RULING: In (a) and (b), the ball remains live. In (c), a traveling violation. In (d), a violation for starting a dribble with the pivot foot off the floor. Since the touching did not prevent the pass or try in (b), (c) and (d), the ball remains live and subsequent action is covered by rules which apply to the situation.
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 27, 2009, 09:42pm
SAK SAK is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 284
All that is required for a time out to be called is player control. We allow a player with no feet on the ground who is heading out of bounds to call a time out, so why not allow this player. If A1 calls a time out, I would grant it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 27, 2009, 11:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Send a message via AIM to Back In The Saddle Send a message via MSN to Back In The Saddle Send a message via Yahoo to Back In The Saddle
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAK View Post
All that is required for a time out to be called is player control. We allow a player with no feet on the ground who is heading out of bounds to call a time out, so why not allow this player. If A1 calls a time out, I would grant it.
Quite properly, I might add.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IAABO practice question Joel Poli Basketball 6 Thu Oct 01, 2009 07:34pm
IAABO refresher question #2 assignmentmaker Basketball 7 Mon Nov 21, 2005 02:38am
IAABO Question bjb3 Basketball 12 Mon Nov 07, 2005 06:37am
IAABO Question CD kgruber Basketball 0 Sun Oct 31, 2004 09:54pm
IAABO 2003 Question #50 JugglingReferee Basketball 1 Fri Jan 23, 2004 09:31pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:03pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1