The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 06, 2005, 12:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 5
I'm using the Iaabo software to prepare for the test and I got this one wrong. They cite 2-10-4 as the answer but that seems to validate my argument. What do you think ?


A1 is erroneously awarded a 1 and 1. A-1 makes the first. A-1's second FT misses. As B-1 is rebounding B-1 is fouled by A-2. The error is now recognized.

Official cancels the FT and cancels the common foul. Is the official correct?

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 06, 2005, 02:12pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
Quote:
Originally posted by bjb3
I'm using the Iaabo software to prepare for the test and I got this one wrong. They cite 2-10-4 as the answer but that seems to validate my argument. What do you think ?


A1 is erroneously awarded a 1 and 1. A-1 makes the first. A-1's second FT misses. As B-1 is rebounding B-1 is fouled by A-2. The error is now recognized.

Official cancels the FT and cancels the common foul. Is the official correct?

Who knows if the official was correct?

R2-10-4 sez you cancel a common foul committed "during" a corrected unmerited FT. We know that A2 committed a common foul. However, we don't know whether A2 committed that common foul before or after the FT ended(R4-20-3)- because "as B1 is rebounding" doesn't really give us that info.

Iow, ambiguous question imo.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 06, 2005, 02:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by bjb3
A1 is erroneously awarded a 1 and 1. A-1 makes the first. A-1's second FT misses. As B-1 is rebounding B-1 is fouled by A-2. The error is now recognized.

Official cancels the FT and cancels the common foul. Is the official correct?
we don't know whether A2 committed that common foul before or after the FT ended(R4-20-3)- because "as B1 is rebounding" doesn't really give us that info.
No, but doesn't "A1's second FT misses" give us that info?
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 06, 2005, 02:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 5
IAABO Question

So since the foul occurred after the FT you allow the first erroneous FT to count and charge the foul ?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 06, 2005, 03:34pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by bjb3
A1 is erroneously awarded a 1 and 1. A-1 makes the first. A-1's second FT misses. As B-1 is rebounding B-1 is fouled by A-2. The error is now recognized.

Official cancels the FT and cancels the common foul. Is the official correct?
we don't know whether A2 committed that common foul before or after the FT ended(R4-20-3)- because "as B1 is rebounding" doesn't really give us that info.
No, but doesn't "A1's second FT misses" give us that info?
Fine, as long as the foul occurred on B1 after the FT missed, that's enough info. Does the question definitively say that though? B1 coulda been in the lane in rebounding mode with the FT bouncing around on the rim before falling off, n'est-ce,pas?.

Or......I'm being too anal....again.

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 06, 2005, 05:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,181
The correct answer is that you cancel the point from the first FT, but the foul committed following the second FT is charged.

Chuck is right, JR is too anal.

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 06, 2005, 07:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
Chuck is right, JR is too anal.
I'm pretty sure that I never said anything about JR's reputed anal traits. Great. Now that you've made me think about JR's anal traits, I'm gonna have nightmares!!
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 06, 2005, 08:22pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
Chuck is right, JR is too anal.
I'm pretty sure that I never said anything about JR's reputed anal traits. Great. Now that you've made me think about JR's anal traits, I'm gonna have nightmares!!
Tonight.....on Monster Chiller Horror Theater....

The Attack of the 50 Foot Anal Trait!

Ooooooooo........scary.....

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 06, 2005, 08:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref

I prefer Edith PPPPRickley



Among the finest of comedy on TV ever...

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 06, 2005, 08:44pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref

Among the finest of comedy on TV ever...

Yessir....

Classics.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 06, 2005, 11:02pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,398
Send a message via AIM to Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Send a message via MSN to Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Send a message via Yahoo to Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
The correct answer is that you cancel the point from the first FT, but the foul committed following the second FT is charged.

Chuck is right, JR is too anal.


Neveda and Chuck:

Please forgive for all of the abuse you are about to receive. I agree with the two of you.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 07, 2005, 01:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,181


Neveda and Chuck:

Please forgive for all of the abuse you are about to receive. I agree with the two of you.

MTD, Sr. [/B][/QUOTE]


Laughing MY @SS OFF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 07, 2005, 06:37am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Quote:
Originally posted by Nevadaref
The correct answer is that you cancel the point from the first FT, but the foul committed following the second FT is charged.

Chuck is right, JR is too anal.


Neveda and Chuck:

Please forgive for all of the abuse you are about to receive. I agree with the two of you.

MTD, Sr.
Well, as you said yourself, Mark...all IAABO interpretations are wrong anyway.

Iow, none of this matters anyway.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1