![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
BUT even if you decide to pass on it (which I could see), my point was that the foul on the pass was the one you NEED to get. We can see the defender come up with hands extended out and high and there is clear contact on the torso and even up near the face. A shows some frustration and it is clear things need to be reigned in. |
|
|||
A few things:
I would like to apologize for not stating things correctly; I was working off memory because I had not seen the video in a while when I started this thread on Sunday. 1. It wasn't a forearm but was certainly a block. If others don't think so that is another opinion. The reason this play was selected was because the instructional chair, and my friend, thought there should have been 4 fouls called. 2. My opinion is the video is good enough to make some determination. 3. The first contact is a foul. I too had a question about the contact the defender could have made. But, the offensive player extended her arm and the player went down, delay and all. We can either question a play like this or explain it to the coach like this official did. She either got hit or deserves an oscar. Either way, I'm putting air in the whistle one way or the other - depending on what the defender did. Someone also comment (I think) about the T being straight-lined. Not a good enough reason to not have something. 4. This play escalates and that is why the contact was pointed out. Even though the pass was successful there was contact (the 3rd foul). Something should have been called on all three occasions before the fourth foul and these officials were in position to do so. I know the thing about "well in my area..." so I will say this: these would be fouls in Southern Nevada...and the DC/Maryland area...and Mississippi. I'm about to post the end of this game in another thread.
__________________
"Be more concerned with your character than your reputation, because your character is what you really are, while your reputation is merely what others think you are." -- John Wooden |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
No problem BITS. Talking out loud and learning, so to speak, is what this exercise is all about.
__________________
"Be more concerned with your character than your reputation, because your character is what you really are, while your reputation is merely what others think you are." -- John Wooden |
|
|||
Oh, something else that came up Sunday. Someone said the play should have been killed immediately when the player went down. Others continued by saying it should have been stopped by rule, regardless of who had the ball, what was happening with the ball, etc.
I could find this in the rule book; they said it was changed two years ago. When I looked and told an official I couldn't find it he told me it was a state policy. I then said the policy letter should be printed and distributed because this could be a test question. Then he said he wasn't sure it it was a policy or a suggestion. At this point I was getting tired of the changing story so I will ask here: am I missing something in the rule book? I would want to know what rule covers stopping this play because I was only able to find things about bleeding, unconscious player. If the injured player was right in the middle of the action of course the play should be stopped, but that wasn't the case in this play.
__________________
"Be more concerned with your character than your reputation, because your character is what you really are, while your reputation is merely what others think you are." -- John Wooden |
|
|||
When a player is injured as in Art. 2(a), the official may suspend play after the ball is dead or is in control of the injured player’s team or when the opponents complete a play. A play is completed when a team loses control (including throwing for goal) or withholds the ball from play by ceasing to attempt to score or advance the ball to a scoring position. When necessary to protect an injured player, the official may immediately suspend play. NFHS 5-8-2 Note
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
"Be more concerned with your character than your reputation, because your character is what you really are, while your reputation is merely what others think you are." -- John Wooden |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
"Be more concerned with your character than your reputation, because your character is what you really are, while your reputation is merely what others think you are." -- John Wooden |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
T or no T (video) | RookieDude | Basketball | 16 | Mon Jan 26, 2009 07:47pm |
Video | Ch1town | Basketball | 11 | Tue Apr 15, 2008 02:58pm |
Video | zanzibar | Volleyball | 3 | Mon Mar 19, 2007 11:33pm |
Re: the video | LJ57 | Softball | 3 | Tue Aug 15, 2006 02:12pm |
Use the video? | TriggerMN | Basketball | 6 | Mon Jan 12, 2004 02:56pm |