The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 24, 2009, 06:37am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,464
Almost Only Counts In Horseshoes And Hand Grenades ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rufus View Post
It's 9.9.1 in the casebook, Situation D.
Thanks, but I was actually looking for a citation where the player catching the throwin pass while in a midair jump from frontcourt to backcourt (backcourt rule exception) makes a second pass to a teammate who is already in the backcourt. In the citation I'm thinking of there is no complicating deflection by a defensive player. Still looking for that one. Help, please.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 24, 2009, 06:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
I agree with Cameron. And there is no violation if airborne A2 tips the ball to A3 in the backcourt....
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 24, 2009, 07:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachP View Post
I agree with Cameron. And there is no violation if airborne A2 tips the ball to A3 in the backcourt....
If you're talking about a throw-in where A2 is the first to legally touch the ball in bounds and is airborne after jumping from the frontcourt and taps to A3 in the backcourt, then yes, it is a violation.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 24, 2009, 08:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,218
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachP View Post
I agree with Cameron. And there is no violation if airborne A2 tips the ball to A3 in the backcourt....
Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
If you're talking about a throw-in where A2 is the first to legally touch the ball in bounds and is airborne after jumping from the frontcourt and taps to A3 in the backcourt, then yes, it is a violation.

That depends on how you define "tips" or "taps".

If it was a "catch and throw", then TC was established, so it's a violation. If it was a "deflection" (or "batting the ball away from other players")then TC wasn't established, so the play is legal.

(Or, if you would grant A's request for a TO at exactly the time A2 tipped / tapped the ball, then it's a violation; otherwise it's not.)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 24, 2009, 08:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
That depends on how you define "tips" or "taps".

If it was a "catch and throw", then TC was established, so it's a violation. If it was a "deflection" (or "batting the ball away from other players")then TC wasn't established, so the play is legal.

(Or, if you would grant A's request for a TO at exactly the time A2 tipped / tapped the ball, then it's a violation; otherwise it's not.)
You're right. I didn't read carefully enough about the "tipped" part. I'm thinking of the OP and the case book play where A2 catches and throws to teammate A3 who is standing in the BC.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 24, 2009, 09:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Quote:
Originally Posted by zm1283 View Post
You're right. I didn't read carefully enough about the "tipped" part. I'm thinking of the OP and the case book play where A2 catches and throws to teammate A3 who is standing in the BC.
Bob beat me to it but yes, it's funny how on a throwin - an airborne A2 can or cannot trigger a violation based on tipping or "catch and pass" to a backcourt A3 player.

Too bad the rules cannot be written that show the backcourt/frontcourt line does not even exist until there is TC "on the floor".
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 25, 2009, 09:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 275
Clarification on rule

It would best if the rules would say that during a throw in there is no backcourt nor front court until team control is established. When the player jumped, he was not in the front court because there was no front court nor backcourt since there was no team control when he left the floor.. So, while in the air, he can land anyplace and pass anyplace. The same would apply to a defender. He could jump in the air, catch the ball, while in the air and pass to a teammate that was defending in what would be their backcourt.

This would not apply to someone jumping in from out of bounds. OOB is always OOB.
__________________
Damain
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backcourt COBBallRef Basketball 17 Thu Mar 30, 2006 12:20am
Backcourt ? missinglink Basketball 5 Mon Mar 13, 2006 12:25am
backcourt A Pennsylvania Coach Basketball 8 Thu Jan 15, 2004 09:01am
backcourt missinglink Basketball 13 Tue Dec 30, 2003 05:29pm
backcourt? BigDave Basketball 5 Mon Dec 09, 2002 01:49am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1