The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 13, 2009, 10:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 98
Send a message via Yahoo to PSidbury
Referee miscommunication... now what?

Team A lines up to shoot bonus free throws (one-and-one).

However, the lead official giving ball to shooter erroneously announces to the shooter and players on the lane lines, "Two shots," (Lead even gives two shot signal to table as he backs out of lane).
First free throw attempt misses and rebounds to a Team B player who then nonchalantly tosses the ball back to lead referee.
All players at the lane act as if it is two shots and not the one-and-one.

Trail then blows his whistle and says, "This should have been a one-and-one attempt, not two free throws."
Team B player says, "Hey, we got the rebound, we should get the ball."
Team A player says, "But the ref said it was two shots so we didn't even try to rebound."

Again, Team A should have only been shooting one-and-one and not two shots.

What is the NFHS Rules Book action (please include chapter and verse) for correcting this miscommunication error and how should play continue ?

Thank you,
Paul
__________________
NCHSAA (Basketball, Soccer)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 13, 2009, 11:11am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
8.6.1 Go to the AP. The official's error clearly put one team at a disadvantage.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 13, 2009, 11:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
8.6.1 Go to the AP. The official's error clearly put one team at a disadvantage.
JAR has the AP part correct but the rule is 2.10.1.

Case play:
2.10.1 Situation D: A1 is fouled. The scorer informs the official that Team B has committed ten team fouls and that the two-free-throw penalty is in effect. The official administers the free throw and states and indicates "two" throws. The first free throw is unsuccessful and the second is successful. B1 has the ball out of bounds for the throw-in. The scorer informs the official that there were only nine team fouls on B and that the penalty should have been one and one.
Ruling: The error is discovered within the correctable error timeframe, and shall be corrected. The second free throw is canceled and play is resumed at the point of interruption. Since "no goal" has been scored, play is resumed with an AP throw in at the spot nearest to where the ball was located when the stoppage occurred.

Last edited by bbcof83; Thu Aug 13, 2009 at 11:26am. Reason: spelling
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 13, 2009, 11:34am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbcof83 View Post
JAR has the AP part correct but the rule is 2.10.1.
not true
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 13, 2009, 12:04pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbcof83 View Post
JAR has the AP part correct but the rule is 2.10.1.

Case play:
2.10.1 Situation D: A1 is fouled. The scorer informs the official that Team B has committed ten team fouls and that the two-free-throw penalty is in effect. The official administers the free throw and states and indicates "two" throws. The first free throw is unsuccessful and the second is successful. B1 has the ball out of bounds for the throw-in. The scorer informs the official that there were only nine team fouls on B and that the penalty should have been one and one.
Ruling: The error is discovered within the correctable error timeframe, and shall be corrected. The second free throw is canceled and play is resumed at the point of interruption. Since "no goal" has been scored, play is resumed with an AP throw in at the spot nearest to where the ball was located when the stoppage occurred.
What you're referencing is a CE, not an officials mistake like the OP stated.

Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
not true
I had to learn the hard way (of course) that the C or T should be aware if the L says or indicates the wrong number of shots to be attempted. Sound their whistle, correct & re-administer the FTs.

I wouldn't mind if the table hits the horn prior to the shot when the L indicates 2 to the table & they know it's a 1 & 1 situation.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 13, 2009, 12:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 98
Send a message via Yahoo to PSidbury
Hmmm... still a bit confused...

Where in the Rules Book does it state (for my situation) the corrective action should be to award possession to the team that currently holds "alternating possession".

I can't seem to find the words "alternating possession" in any of the rules articles cited above.

Thanks again for your consideration,
Paul
__________________
NCHSAA (Basketball, Soccer)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 13, 2009, 12:03pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbcof83 View Post
JAR has the AP part correct but the rule is 2.10.1.

Case play:
2.10.1 Situation D: A1 is fouled. The scorer informs the official that Team B has committed ten team fouls and that the two-free-throw penalty is in effect. The official administers the free throw and states and indicates "two" throws. The first free throw is unsuccessful and the second is successful. B1 has the ball out of bounds for the throw-in. The scorer informs the official that there were only nine team fouls on B and that the penalty should have been one and one.
Ruling: The error is discovered within the correctable error timeframe, and shall be corrected. The second free throw is canceled and play is resumed at the point of interruption. Since "no goal" has been scored, play is resumed with an AP throw in at the spot nearest to where the ball was located when the stoppage occurred.
There's no correctable error since the second free throw was never shot. JAR has the correct casebook play citation with 8.6.1.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Referee - Who do you think of? tjones1 Hockey 4 Tue Mar 04, 2008 05:58am
NBA Referee brandan89 Basketball 11 Mon Jan 31, 2005 01:47pm
Becoming a referee sherwin Basketball 5 Fri Jan 14, 2005 02:59am
May I become a referee? cristim Basketball 9 Thu Sep 18, 2003 04:09pm
miscommunication harmbu Baseball 1 Mon Apr 01, 2002 12:52am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:57pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1