The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 13, 2009, 11:34am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbcof83 View Post
JAR has the AP part correct but the rule is 2.10.1.
not true
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 13, 2009, 12:04pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbcof83 View Post
JAR has the AP part correct but the rule is 2.10.1.

Case play:
2.10.1 Situation D: A1 is fouled. The scorer informs the official that Team B has committed ten team fouls and that the two-free-throw penalty is in effect. The official administers the free throw and states and indicates "two" throws. The first free throw is unsuccessful and the second is successful. B1 has the ball out of bounds for the throw-in. The scorer informs the official that there were only nine team fouls on B and that the penalty should have been one and one.
Ruling: The error is discovered within the correctable error timeframe, and shall be corrected. The second free throw is canceled and play is resumed at the point of interruption. Since "no goal" has been scored, play is resumed with an AP throw in at the spot nearest to where the ball was located when the stoppage occurred.
What you're referencing is a CE, not an officials mistake like the OP stated.

Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
not true
I had to learn the hard way (of course) that the C or T should be aware if the L says or indicates the wrong number of shots to be attempted. Sound their whistle, correct & re-administer the FTs.

I wouldn't mind if the table hits the horn prior to the shot when the L indicates 2 to the table & they know it's a 1 & 1 situation.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 13, 2009, 12:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 98
Send a message via Yahoo to PSidbury
Hmmm... still a bit confused...

Where in the Rules Book does it state (for my situation) the corrective action should be to award possession to the team that currently holds "alternating possession".

I can't seem to find the words "alternating possession" in any of the rules articles cited above.

Thanks again for your consideration,
Paul
__________________
NCHSAA (Basketball, Soccer)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 13, 2009, 12:51pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by PSidbury View Post
Where in the Rules Book does it state (for my situation) the corrective action should be to award possession to the team that currently holds "alternating possession".
Case Book 8.6.1
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 13, 2009, 01:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2008 NFHS Basketball Case Book
8.6.1 SITUATION:A1 is about to attempt the first of a one-and-one free-throw
situation. The administering official steps in and erroneously informs players that
two shots will be taken. A1's first attempt is unsuccessful. The missed shot is
rebounded by: (a) B1, with all other players motionless in anticipation of another
throw; (b) A2, with all other players motionless in anticipation of another throw;
or (c) B2, with several players from both teams attempting to secure the rebound.
The officials recognize their error at this point. RULING: In (a) and (b), the offi-
cial's error clearly put one team at a disadvantage (players stood motionless and
didn't attempt to rebound). Play should be whistled dead immediately and
resumed using the alternating-possession procedure
. In (c), both teams made an
attempt to rebound despite the official's error and had an equal opportunity to
gain possession of the rebound. Play should continue. (2-3)
Here you go.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 13, 2009, 02:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
If I had a nickel for every time that someone inquired about this situation...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 13, 2009, 02:05pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
If I had a nickel for every time that someone inquired about this situation...
then you'd have a nickel. But if you had a nickel for each and every time, then maybe you would have something.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 13, 2009, 02:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
then you'd have a nickel. But if you had a nickel for each and every time, then maybe you would have something.
He might even have a quarter!
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Referee - Who do you think of? tjones1 Hockey 4 Tue Mar 04, 2008 05:58am
NBA Referee brandan89 Basketball 11 Mon Jan 31, 2005 01:47pm
Becoming a referee sherwin Basketball 5 Fri Jan 14, 2005 02:59am
May I become a referee? cristim Basketball 9 Thu Sep 18, 2003 04:09pm
miscommunication harmbu Baseball 1 Mon Apr 01, 2002 12:52am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1