Catch-and-shoot
WNIT action, Indiana against Dayton. Doubt anyone caught this since the game wasn't on TV
Tie game with .6 left. Indiana from baseline to halfcourt. I35 hoists a desperation 3 but a whistle blew, stopping the clock with .2 on the clock. Official thought that a catch-and-shoot was not possible with .6 on the clock. I believe the magic number is .3... They gave the ball back to IU at halfcourt, ruling an inadvertent whistle.
Indiana ended up winning on a lob and tap from halfcourt.
Dayton coach was not happy that an inadvertent whistle ended his season and that he got no explanation from the officials before the final play.
My question is, with exactly .3 left on the clock, is a catch-and-shoot allowed? Or is it a tap only in this situation?
|