The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 19, 2009, 04:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oz Referee View Post
In FIBA the lines are considered to be of zero width. Therefore an inbounding player commits a violation if they touch the line.
Are you really sure? Lines are 5 cm wide (just a tiny bit less than 2 inches), as stated in the rulebook, and they are OOB. What's the rule supporting your claim?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 19, 2009, 05:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Tweed Heads, NSW, Australia
Posts: 559
Quote:
Originally Posted by eg-italy View Post
Are you really sure? Lines are 5 cm wide (just a tiny bit less than 2 inches), as stated in the rulebook, and they are OOB. What's the rule supporting your claim?
Ok, after re-reading the 2008 FIBA rulebook, it looks like I am wrong on this one This was something that I was definitely taught (many years ago).

So in given this - what about the 3-point line and lines of the key? When I started refereeing I was taught that the lines were considered to be of zero width and that they were always considered to be in the section of the court that the player didn't want them to be.

Also, when reading over the rules I noticed that:
17.3 Rule
17.3.1 A player taking a throw-in shall not:
...
Touch the ball on the playing court before it has touched another player.
...

Now maybe I'm wrong (as we have seen it can happen ) but this sounds to be as if a pass from out of bounds that bounces on the playing court and is then picked up would be illegal??
__________________
Duane Galle
P.s. I'm a FIBA referee - so all my posts are metric

Visit www.geocities.com/oz_referee
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 19, 2009, 05:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Italy
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oz Referee View Post
Ok, after re-reading the 2008 FIBA rulebook, it looks like I am wrong on this one This was something that I was definitely taught (many years ago).

So in given this - what about the 3-point line and lines of the key? When I started refereeing I was taught that the lines were considered to be of zero width and that they were always considered to be in the section of the court that the player didn't want them to be.
This "rule" is a good approximation of the real one (apart from the zero width). There is only one catch: simply touching a boundary line doesn't place a player in bound, nor touching the division line places a player in the front court.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oz Referee View Post
Also, when reading over the rules I noticed that:
17.3 Rule
17.3.1 A player taking a throw-in shall not:
...
• Touch the ball on the playing court before it has touched another player.
...

Now maybe I'm wrong (as we have seen it can happen ) but this sounds to be as if a pass from out of bounds that bounces on the playing court and is then picked up would be illegal??
That refers to the same player who has made the throw-in. That player can't touch the ball before it has touched another player. But it's allowed to bounce the ball OOB and touching it again before releasing the throw-in.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 19, 2009, 05:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Tweed Heads, NSW, Australia
Posts: 559
I knew I was mis-interpreting it. I read it as making the ball touch the playing court, as opposed to the player touching the ball whilst standing on the playing court......IDIOT!

Thanks for making me fell incredibly dumb
__________________
Duane Galle
P.s. I'm a FIBA referee - so all my posts are metric

Visit www.geocities.com/oz_referee
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 19, 2009, 10:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada, eh?
Posts: 1,628
Oz, you forgot to include the most important rule:

"Coaches are prohibited from talking to the officials in any way. Talking to an official will result in immediate ejection from the game."
__________________
HOMER: Just gimme my gun.
CLERK: Hold on, the law requires a five-day waiting period; we've got run a background check...
HOMER: Five days???? But I'm mad NOW!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Most Misunderstood Basketball Rules BillyMac Basketball 29 Tue Jun 25, 2013 04:58pm
For Teachers Only jkumpire Baseball 4 Tue Mar 27, 2007 09:31am
What basic rules does Babe Ruth 9-10 year olds use? TwoBits Baseball 4 Tue May 31, 2005 10:24pm
Basketball rules tgl Basketball 16 Tue Mar 23, 2004 07:13am
Rules for three on three basketball kletis55 Basketball 2 Mon Jul 17, 2000 11:58am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:12pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1