The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 11, 2009, 06:38pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I'm only resetting if he muffs the ball prior to gaining control. If he's holding it then it bounces; I'm not resetting.
So then you call a violation?

Devils advocate: what if it's deemed to not be a pass? A fumble is not a pass.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 11, 2009, 06:51pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee View Post
So then you call a violation?

Devils advocate: what if it's deemed to not be a pass? A fumble is not a pass.
I will if it bounces inbounds or (in the case of a spot throwin) outside his three foot throwin spot.

A player fumbling the ball inbounds would be treated just like a player stepping over the line with the ball during a throwin. It's not what he did, it's what he failed to do.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 11, 2009, 07:00pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I will if it bounces inbounds or (in the case of a spot throwin) outside his three foot throwin spot.
As long as the thrower has one foot over the spot, the ball bouncing outside the spot would not be a violation.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 11, 2009, 07:21pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
As long as the thrower has one foot over the spot, the ball bouncing outside the spot would not be a violation.
We had a discussion about this, and I should have worded it differently. If it bounces away from where he can reach while maintaining his spot, it's a violation. You could argue that they still have the opportunity to request a timeout if the 5 second count has not expired, but given the NFHS rule/case/interp on a free thrower fumbling the ball away, I have to think they want us to call this violation immediately.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 11, 2009, 07:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Southern NJ
Posts: 135
I actually had this happen to me in a B JV game I did this year while I was being evaluated by an observer in the stands. He was in the 5th row center court, and I administered the throw in right in front of him. A1 attempts to inbounds to A2, but the ball hits the sideline before A2 (or anyone else) touches it.

Tweet- "throw in violation- Red ball". That was it. Despite it being the rare occurrance, it seemed pretty logical to me- "hmm, ball hit the line, line is OOB- violation"

BTW, the observer gave me a great evaluation, complete with a specific reference to that play and two thumbs up to me for knowing the rule. I was just happy that I didn't kick the call.

End of personal horn-tooting...

Z
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 12, 2009, 08:50pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
We had a discussion about this, and I should have worded it differently. If it bounces away from where he can reach while maintaining his spot, it's a violation. You could argue that they still have the opportunity to request a timeout if the 5 second count has not expired, but given the NFHS rule/case/interp on a free thrower fumbling the ball away, I have to think they want us to call this violation immediately.
Don't know if this was brought up in the other thread, but there's an NCAA case play that says to reset - which was opposite of what I advocated for before I found it.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 13, 2009, 12:19am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP View Post
Don't know if this was brought up in the other thread, but there's an NCAA case play that says to reset - which was opposite of what I advocated for before I found it.
I thought that was for a "muff," in which the player never gains control of the ball when the official bounces it to him.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 13, 2009, 12:03pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Nope - For a fumble - So it mirrors the free throw case/rule interp. Surprised me too.
Quote:
2008-09 NCAA Basketball Case Book
Throw-in
A.R. 175. A1, on a throw-in from a designated spot, fumbles. A1 leaves
the designated spot to retrieve the fumble. Is this a violation?
RULING: No. Since there was a fumble, the official shall blow his/
her whistle, which causes the ball to become dead, and then shall readminister
the throw-in.
(Rule 4-31.1 and 7-6.5)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bounce pass ILMalti Basketball 2 Wed Mar 11, 2009 01:24pm
division line bounce pass phansen Basketball 13 Mon Feb 23, 2009 03:43pm
Bounce pass to self Vinski Basketball 243 Sat Sep 08, 2007 12:45pm
Bounce pass on throw-in klancie Basketball 21 Tue Sep 09, 2003 07:08pm
Where to bounce pass the ball.... RookieDude Basketball 29 Tue Dec 17, 2002 08:21am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1