![]() |
|
![]() |
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
|||
7-1-1: A player is out of bounds when he/she touches the floor, or any object other than a player/person, on or outside a boundary.
If touching a person who is out of bounds does not cause a player to be out of bounds, I would say the reverse is also true.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
Player location doesn't quite work the same as ball location. |
|
|||
It was a good question, Juulie, but the rule is very clear that an airborne player's location is determined by where that player last contacted the FLOOR or an extension of the floor. Other players or people are not considered extensions of the floor.
4-35-3 . . . The location of an airborne player with reference to the three factors of Article 1 is the same as at the time such player was last in contact with the floor or an extension of the floor, such as a bleacher. |
|
|||
![]()
What if the player who was OOB jumped up and touched an official who was standing inbounds? Since a ball hitting an official is considered hitting the floor at the spot where the official is standing, would the same theory apply to a player touching an official? Would that player now be considered touching the floor inbounds?
__________________
Yom HaShoah |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Player Out of Bounds/1st to touch inbounds | joetip30 | Basketball | 31 | Sat Jan 03, 2009 09:03pm |
Silly hypothetical question re: facemasking | rbmartin | Football | 3 | Mon Nov 13, 2006 07:07pm |
Question about an inbounds pass | BBallinRick | Basketball | 14 | Sat Jul 12, 2003 05:45am |
Inbounds (Backcourt Question) | WindyCityRef | Basketball | 30 | Fri Feb 28, 2003 10:33am |
Hypothetical Question | LarryS | Basketball | 4 | Wed Dec 05, 2001 01:18pm |