The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Hypothetical Question: Is this player oob, or inbounds? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/52149-hypothetical-question-player-oob-inbounds.html)

Juulie Downs Mon Mar 09, 2009 01:41am

Hypothetical Question: Is this player oob, or inbounds?
 
Watching a game on TV today, and a sort of hypothetical situation occurred to me, which led to the question, does a player have to have touched the floor inbounds to be considered inbounds?

Here's the sitch:

A1 is inbounding the ball. She throws it toward A5 who is near the division line, but before it gets there, B1 jumps up in front of A5 and swats it back toward the endline. A1 instinctively jumps up (from oob) to catch the ball, realizes that she still has oob status, and so reaches out with one hand to touch A2's head. Does that touch give A1 inbounds status?

JRutledge Mon Mar 09, 2009 01:51am

No. Where does the rule say that touching someone gives you inbound status?

Peace

just another ref Mon Mar 09, 2009 02:07am

7-1-1: A player is out of bounds when he/she touches the floor, or any object other than a player/person, on or outside a boundary.

If touching a person who is out of bounds does not cause a player to be out of bounds, I would say the reverse is also true.

Nevadaref Mon Mar 09, 2009 11:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 586524)
7-1-1: A player is out of bounds when he/she touches the floor, or any object other than a player/person, on or outside a boundary.

If touching a person who is out of bounds does not cause a player to be out of bounds, I would say the reverse is also true.

In other words, a player touching another player is not the same as the player touching the floor at that other player's location.

Player location doesn't quite work the same as ball location.

Nevadaref Mon Mar 09, 2009 11:04am

It was a good question, Juulie, but the rule is very clear that an airborne player's location is determined by where that player last contacted the FLOOR or an extension of the floor. Other players or people are not considered extensions of the floor.

4-35-3 . . . The location of an airborne player with reference to the three factors
of Article 1 is the same as at the time such player was last in contact with the floor
or an extension of the floor, such as a bleacher.

Mark Padgett Mon Mar 09, 2009 11:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 586576)
It was a good question, Juulie, but the rule is very clear that an airborne player's location is determined by where that player last contacted the FLOOR or an extension of the floor. Other players or people are not considered extensions of the floor.

What if the player who was OOB jumped up and touched an official who was standing inbounds? Since a ball hitting an official is considered hitting the floor at the spot where the official is standing, would the same theory apply to a player touching an official? Would that player now be considered touching the floor inbounds?

Nevadaref Mon Mar 09, 2009 11:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 586587)
What if the player who was OOB jumped up and touched an official who was standing inbounds? Since a ball hitting an official is considered hitting the floor at the spot where the official is standing, would the same theory apply to a player touching an official? Would that player now be considered touching the floor inbounds?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 586572)
Player location doesn't quite work the same as ball location.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 586576)
Other players or people are not considered extensions of the floor.

<text>

bigdogrunnin Mon Mar 09, 2009 12:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 586587)
What if the player who was OOB jumped up and touched an official who was standing inbounds? Since a ball hitting an official is considered hitting the floor at the spot where the official is standing, would the same theory apply to a player touching an official? Would that player now be considered touching the floor inbounds?

I immediately thought of the same scenario. My initial response was, "why would an official be so close to the player that they would be able to do that?" I know . . . I probably don't want to know. :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1