The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 27, 2009, 10:01am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by eyezen View Post
Presented to me by a fellow official.

A1 inbounding ball on sideline. B1 right on top of sideline guarding A1's inbound.

A1 clears B1 with forearm to get space to inbound the ball.

What is the call?

I said it's got to be a foul and shoot Bonus is applicable (no TC-NFHS).

What got the discussion going was if it was inverted it would be an intentional personal.
No, it wouldn't be an intentional if inverted, as B1 is (I assume) standing in bounds.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 27, 2009, 10:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Lincoln Co, Missouri
Posts: 823
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
No, it wouldn't be an intentional if inverted, as B1 is (I assume) standing in bounds.
Why not? B1 is inbounds and he fouls inbounder A1, it definitely is an intentional.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 27, 2009, 10:44am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by eyezen View Post
Why not? B1 is inbounds and he fouls inbounder A1, it definitely is an intentional.
Only if B1 reaches OOB and fouls A1. If B1 commits a foul without reaching OOB, it's only an intentional if it meets the other criteria.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 27, 2009, 10:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Lincoln Co, Missouri
Posts: 823
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Only if B1 reaches OOB and fouls A1. If B1 commits a foul without reaching OOB, it's only an intentional if it meets the other criteria.
Well duh.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 27, 2009, 11:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ohio, cincinnati
Posts: 813
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Only if B1 reaches OOB and fouls A1. If B1 commits a foul without reaching OOB, it's only an intentional if it meets the other criteria.
rule nine section 2
Penalties art 11
4. If an opponent(s) of the thrower reaches through the throw-in boundary-line plane and fouls the thrower, an intentional personal foul shall be charged to the offender. No warning for delay required. true
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 27, 2009, 02:35pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by OHBBREF View Post
rule nine section 2
Penalties art 11
4. If an opponent(s) of the thrower reaches through the throw-in boundary-line plane and fouls the thrower, an intentional personal foul shall be charged to the offender. No warning for delay required. true
Okay, I was reading "inverted" to mean simply that B1 fouls A1 rather than reaching through the plane to do it. I see what you mean now.

However, the intentional foul rule here is only for the defender reaching out of bounds. The only way you can call this intentional is if it's the same type of foul you'd call inentional on a ball handler inbounds.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 27, 2009, 11:13am
9/11 - Never Forget
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,642
Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
First Time Used......

Quote:
Originally Posted by eyezen View Post
B1 is inbounds and he fouls inbounder A1, it definitely is an intentional.
Yep, last night. Well played tight B13/15 game.

B scores and A1 is under the basket for the throw-in. B is in full-court, man-to-man press. I'm new T, and counting. B1 temporarily loses his man and discovers he's the inbounder. B1 runs several steps at top speed to guard the inbounding A1. B1 can't slow down, loses his balance and falls right out of bounds and into A1! CRASH! TWEET!
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inbounding after a T Chuck_Lewis Basketball 15 Sun Nov 30, 2008 12:51pm
Inbounding ball lukealex Basketball 3 Wed Oct 11, 2006 01:33am
inbounding xxssmen Basketball 3 Tue Mar 09, 2004 01:35pm
Inbounding gdub33 Basketball 2 Sat Jan 12, 2002 11:12pm
Inbounding DrC. Basketball 23 Tue May 02, 2000 03:56pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1