![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Rule 4-15-1 states “A dribble is ball movement caused by a player in control who bats (intentionally strikes the ball with the hand(s)) or pushes the ball to the floor once or several times. Rule 9-4 states “A player shall not travel with the ball, intentionally kick it, strike it with the fist or cause it to enter and pass through the basket from below.
__________________
Da Official |
|
|||
|
When I started officiating, we had a lot of trouble with the basketballs. Sometimes the laces would start to unravel, and sometimes the ball would bet a big gash in it from striking the lip of the peach basket.
__________________
Yom HaShoah Last edited by Mark Padgett; Fri Feb 27, 2009 at 01:01pm. |
|
|||
|
I believe you to...
|
|
|||
|
Back to the basics
Before the embers go cold here (or before I'm fully awake, I guess), I'd like to get clarification on what I thought was the crux of No. 1 in the OP.
What is the ramification, if any, if A1 is dribbling and either loses control of the ball or just "closes down" on it so his hand is ultimately sitting on top of a non-moving ball. May he a) slap down on it with open hand to bring his dribble back to life or b) punch/fist it back up to a dribble again? (Note: It has nothing to do with a defective ball, and the player has not yet picked up the ball or put his hand under it.) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Da Official |
|
|||
|
Article is provided "as is" without any warranties.
What was the ball stuffed with?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
I do not believe that is the intent of the rule. we see players bat the ball (with side of fist) to their teammates after a goal all night long; do you call the violation for that? No, of course not. However, if during a rebound or loose ball scrum, a player used his fist to volley the ball down court, then it applies. I simply do not believe contact with a closed hand consititutes a violation, in my judgment.
|
|
||||
|
Quote:
FWIW, I never see players use their fists to pass a live ball. You know why you don't call this or see it called? The ball is dead. You can't call a violation during a dead ball.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Just my opinion. But i have never seen either in a game; just at the park. Thanks for the discussion.
|
|
||||
|
Quote:
I learned two lessons on that play. Back to the point. A player starting or continuing a dribble with a fist fits the letter of this rule, and in most cases, violations are not determined with advantage/disadvantage. However, this is not one you want to be calling 5 times a year; it's about as rare as the T for faking being fouled.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Wrong Ball Play | MrUmpire | Football | 43 | Wed Aug 12, 2009 10:20am |
| Ball to the wrong team | jmaellis | Basketball | 9 | Thu Jan 24, 2008 08:16am |
| wrong ball | kmw | Basketball | 6 | Sun Jan 14, 2007 01:17pm |
| Wrong ball??? | Rusty Gilbert | Basketball | 2 | Wed Dec 20, 2006 02:00pm |
| Wrong team gets ball | Jim Henry | Basketball | 38 | Thu Nov 03, 2005 12:34am |