The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 26, 2009, 12:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amesman View Post
Brother-in-law (who at one time blew the Fox 40) asked me to ask this: Can a shooter be the first to touch his own try if it doesn't hit rim or backboard?

Having checked by now, though, would this come under 4-41-4 (when a try ends ... hitting the floor)? If so, can it be legally regained whether or not it hits the floor, or is there something else at play?
It is part of rules 4-12 (Player and/or Team Control) and 4-44 (Traveling.) Case Book 4.44 Sit(B) is this exact play (hitting the floor is moot) and as Jevaque said, you are right. No violation.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ball carrier fumbles the ball forward into and out of the other teams' end zone? PackersFTW Football 1 Sun Jan 04, 2009 12:29am
Ball, ball, ball, ball, ball, ball, ball, ball...: The Cover rainmaker Basketball 3 Wed Jan 04, 2006 11:12am
Screaming "BALL BALL BALL" during girls games drinkeii Basketball 90 Mon Jul 11, 2005 09:53am
regaining possession after a pass lawton Basketball 1 Fri Dec 05, 2003 01:25pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:22am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1