![]() |
|
|
|||
Regaining own air ball
Brother-in-law (who at one time blew the Fox 40) asked me to ask this: Can a shooter be the first to touch his own try if it doesn't hit rim or backboard?
I told him I thought so -- as long as it was a legitimate try attempt in the officials' eyes -- but I wasn't in the mood to jump up and grab my book at the time to cite chapter and verse. Having checked by now, though, would this come under 4-41-4 (when a try ends ... hitting the floor)? If so, can it be legally regained whether or not it hits the floor, or is there something else at play? Also, he wondered if the described sitch is OK, had the rule been changed recently? Thanks for any help -- you know how brothers-in-law can be ... |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Because there is a specific rule that prohibits it. Other than that, I have no insight into their thinking in having such a rule.
|
|
|||
And for those of you who don't have books.....
NFHS Case Book 4.44 SITUATION B: A1 attempts a try after ending the dribble. The try does not touch the backboard, the rim or any other player. A1 runs and is able to catch the ball before it strikes the floor. Is this traveling? RULING: No. When A1 recovered his/her own try, A1 could either dribble, pass or try again. There was no team control after the ball was released on a try. (4-12; 4-41)
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
ball carrier fumbles the ball forward into and out of the other teams' end zone? | PackersFTW | Football | 1 | Sun Jan 04, 2009 12:29am |
Ball, ball, ball, ball, ball, ball, ball, ball...: The Cover | rainmaker | Basketball | 3 | Wed Jan 04, 2006 11:12am |
Screaming "BALL BALL BALL" during girls games | drinkeii | Basketball | 90 | Mon Jul 11, 2005 09:53am |
regaining possession after a pass | lawton | Basketball | 1 | Fri Dec 05, 2003 01:25pm |