The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 16, 2009, 12:14pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
That's a. Look at b.
That's it, thanks. I was looking at last year's case book, which is slightly different. Last year's said he just dropped it after having it, and both situations called for a re-set.

This year's says to call the violation if he dribbles it off his foot into the lane.

At first glance, I don't like this case play. However, all the defense would have to do to ensure the violation is grab the ball and toss it OOB; even if they had to step in the lane to intercept a pass from an offensive player in his lane space, a double violation on a free throw penalizes the offense rather than the defense.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 16, 2009, 08:38pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,404
Do not bend, fold, mutilate, or spindle.

*9.1.1 SITUATION: A1, at the free-throw line to attempt a free throw: (a) muffs the pass from the official and it rolls forward; or (b) while performing his/her habitual dribbles prior to the release, accidentally allows the ball to deflect off his/her foot into the lane. RULING: In (a), the official should sound the whistle to prevent any violations and then start the free throw procedure again. No freethrow violation should be called in this situation. In (b), a free-throw violation shall be called on A1. (9-1-3a, e)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 17, 2009, 07:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
*9.1.1 SITUATION: A1, at the free-throw line to attempt a free throw: (a) muffs the pass from the official and it rolls forward; or (b) while performing his/her habitual dribbles prior to the release, accidentally allows the ball to deflect off his/her foot into the lane. RULING: In (a), the official should sound the whistle to prevent any violations and then start the free throw procedure again. No freethrow violation should be called in this situation. In (b), a free-throw violation shall be called on A1. (9-1-3a, e)
In light of this new case play, I withdraw post #2 of this thread.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 17, 2009, 08:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Losing the ball is not a violation.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
*9.1.1 SITUATION: A1, at the free-throw line to attempt a free throw: (a) muffs the pass from the official and it rolls forward; or (b) while performing his/her habitual dribbles prior to the release, accidentally allows the ball to deflect off his/her foot into the lane. RULING: In (a), the official should sound the whistle to prevent any violations and then start the free throw procedure again. No freethrow violation should be called in this situation. In (b), a free-throw violation shall be called on A1. (9-1-3a, e)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
In light of this new case play, I withdraw post #2 of this thread.
Done with your usual grace and elegance.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 17, 2009, 08:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
The NCAA ruling is different

From the case book:

A.R. 186. A1, at the free throw line to attempt a free throw, receives the ball from the official, who starts a silent count. While bouncing the ball, A1 strikes the ball on his/her knee or leg accidentally and the ball rolls toward the basket between the free throw lane lines.

RULING: The official shall sound the whistle at once, causing the ball to become dead. The official should caution the free thrower, place the ball at the disposal of A1 and start a new silent count. (Rule 9-1.2.a, 6-1.4.c,d and 6-5.1.d)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backcourt violation - 3 second violation Shades of Gray Basketball 15 Thu Dec 11, 2008 12:38pm
Throw-in violation or OOB violation? Nevadaref Basketball 47 Fri Nov 02, 2007 07:15pm
Clever? or a violation ,trying 2 avoid a violation hardwdref Basketball 3 Sat Nov 13, 2004 04:17pm
3 second violation JLC Basketball 2 Tue Oct 15, 2002 02:36pm
violation or not? BigDave Basketball 9 Tue Jun 05, 2001 01:42pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1