The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 04, 2001, 11:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 294
Send a message via ICQ to BigDave
Question

A1 has possesion of the ball. While dribbling, she loses control and steps out of bounds with both feet. She returns back to the court and is the first to touch the ball. Violation?

I blew it dead. Scold me or praise me...

__________________
my favorite food is a whistle
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 05, 2001, 01:09am
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Post

Ask yourself this: if she hadn't gone OOB, would you have blown the whistle? Of course not, this is just an interrupted dribble and there is no player control during an interrupted dribble. If she established on the court before touching, no violation. Of course, she can't dribble again.

So, find the case that says that if a player steps OOB during their interrupted dribble, it's a violation at that point, not when they come back in and touch.

Did you know there used to be a rule that if a player stepped on the division line during their interrupted dribble in the frontcourt, it was an over and back violation? This was changed only about 2 years ago.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 05, 2001, 07:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
I beg to differ!

Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Padgett
Ask yourself this: if she hadn't gone OOB, would you have blown the whistle? Of course not, this is just an interrupted dribble and there is no player control during an interrupted dribble. If she established on the court before touching, no violation. Of course, she can't dribble again.
Sure she can dribble again. It's still an interrupted dribble. There's nothing that legally prevents her from picking the ball up or resuming her dribble. As you said, she lost player control. Just because she resumes her dribble doesn't negate the fact that there was a loss of player control.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 05, 2001, 07:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Tweed Heads, NSW, Australia
Posts: 559
Exclamation

There was also a rule (and I think it still applies) that a player may not leave the confines of the court to gain an advantage. This was mainly aimed at avoiding screens and escaping 3 second violations, but I would think that it couls apply to this case as well.

Keep in mind that I am talking FIBA rules here.
__________________
Duane Galle
P.s. I'm a FIBA referee - so all my posts are metric

Visit www.geocities.com/oz_referee
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 05, 2001, 08:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Re: I beg to differ!

Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Sure she can dribble again. It's still an interrupted dribble. There's nothing that legally prevents her from picking the ball up or resuming her dribble. As you said, she lost player control. Just because she resumes her dribble doesn't negate the fact that there was a loss of player control. [/B]
Oh,dear, have I been calling this wrong? I thought this rule (not referring to the out-of-bounds) was that she could resume her dribble as long as she didn't "pick it up". I thought we discussed this in a previous thread, and that was the conclsion we came to. I've got to get my books, now and look it up.

Incidentally, at camp this weekend, I had the opportunity to use the knowledge we accumulated regarding stepping out on a dribble being OOB, even if the dribbler wasn't actually touching the ball when the foot was on the line. The coach was standing about 3 inches from the dribbler. I was right on the line, watching, but several feet back. The coach yells, "How can you tell if he was touching the ball from that far back?" "Coach, it's OOB even if he is not touching the ball at that moment." "That's not the way it's written!!" "Look it up, coach, in your Simplified and Illustrated. I'll explain later if you want." Man, it felt great to KNOW I was right!!!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 05, 2001, 09:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 962
Send a message via AIM to Tim Roden
Quote:
Originally posted by Oz Referee
There was also a rule (and I think it still applies) that a player may not leave the confines of the court to gain an advantage. This was mainly aimed at avoiding screens and escaping 3 second violations, but I would think that it couls apply to this case as well.

Keep in mind that I am talking FIBA rules here.
What you are talking about is a Technical foul in our book. We don't want to call that. Violation or nothing. I don't think that either call would be argued assuming that the the OOB was not on the table side of the court.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 05, 2001, 09:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Re: Re: I beg to differ!

Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Sure she can dribble again. It's still an interrupted dribble. There's nothing that legally prevents her from picking the ball up or resuming her dribble. As you said, she lost player control. Just because she resumes her dribble doesn't negate the fact that there was a loss of player control.
Oh,dear, have I been calling this wrong? I thought this rule (not referring to the out-of-bounds) was that she could resume her dribble as long as she didn't "pick it up". I thought we discussed this in a previous thread, and that was the conclsion we came to. I've got to get my books, now and look it up.[/B]
No, you're not wrong. What I said was that she could pick the ball up OR resume her dribble. Obviously, she can't pick it up and then start a new dribble.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 05, 2001, 09:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Quote:
Originally posted by Tim Roden
Quote:
Originally posted by Oz Referee
There was also a rule (and I think it still applies) that a player may not leave the confines of the court to gain an advantage. This was mainly aimed at avoiding screens and escaping 3 second violations, but I would think that it couls apply to this case as well.

Keep in mind that I am talking FIBA rules here.
What you are talking about is a Technical foul in our book. We don't want to call that. Violation or nothing. I don't think that either call would be argued assuming that the the OOB was not on the table side of the court.
Let's not confuse things here. It is a technical foul to leave the floor in an obvious effort to gain an advantage. But it certainly isn't a technical foul to step OOB accidentally or involuntarily. In this play, we have absolutely nothing. Play on.

Oz, we rarely ever talk FIBA rules here. Usually, it's either NF or NCAA rules. If you do have a FIBA question, make sure you specify it as such.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 05, 2001, 09:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Tweed Heads, NSW, Australia
Posts: 559
Unhappy My appologies

I understand that generally FIBA rules are not discussed here, however I am hoping to simply offer an alternative intepretation to the way that NF does things.

I am from Australia and we use FIBA rules at all levels (except pro), but I have gained many insights by reading comments relating to "your" rules, and I wsa hoping to return the favour.

It is not my intention to come across as "we do it this way, and this is better" I simply want to broaden peoples horizons (including my own).
__________________
Duane Galle
P.s. I'm a FIBA referee - so all my posts are metric

Visit www.geocities.com/oz_referee
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 05, 2001, 01:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Re: My appologies

Quote:
Originally posted by Oz Referee
It is not my intention to come across as "we do it this way, and this is better" I simply want to broaden peoples horizons (including my own).
And you certainly didn't. I just wanted to point out the differences and the standard since you're new to the board. No offense meant or taken.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1