The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 03:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
NCAA 4-53-1e
Point of interruption is a procedure used to resume play because:
Any technical foul(s).
Exceptions: (Men) single intentional technical foul
and single flagrant technical foul.

NCAA 7-5-7

After a technical foul, a player of the offended team may attempt
the free throws and the ball shall be put back in play at the point of
interruption.
Exceptions: (Men)
Flagrant technical foul and intentional technical
foul, play shall resume by awarding the ball to the offended team at a
designated spot at the division line on either side of the playing court.

Help me out!

__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 03:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
Oh, must have heard the info wrong. A D-League buddy of mine called to asked what happened on the play b/c he couldn't figure out what was going on either.

In the closed thread Bob said the admin seemed correct. But I don't see how it can be correct if a dead ball foul of some type was called on Singler that involved contact.



You are correct, no need to look it up. A couple years ago there were False Double Fouls in the BC/Duke game that involved a taunting T against A1 followed up by a Intentional Contact Technical against B1. After administration Team A received the ball at the division line as a result of the foul against B1.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
NCAA 4-53-1e
Point of interruption is a procedure used to resume play because:
Any technical foul(s).
Exceptions: (Men) single intentional technical foul
and single flagrant technical foul.

NCAA 7-5-7

After a technical foul, a player of the offended team may attempt
the free throws and the ball shall be put back in play at the point of
interruption.
Exceptions: (Men)
Flagrant technical foul and intentional technical
foul, play shall resume by awarding the ball to the offended team at a
designated spot at the division line on either side of the playing court.

Help me out!

I stand corrected. I guess I can leave work now, I learned something new already.

-Josh
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 03:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ohio, cincinnati
Posts: 813
Rule 10.
Section 5 (MEN) CLASS A Unsporting Technical Infractions
RESUMPTION OF PLAY: For any technical foul(s), play shall resume at the point of ineteruption except for a single intentional or a single Flagrant technical foul. For a single intetional or a single flagrant technical, the ball shall be awarded to the offended team at a designated spot at the division line on either side of the playing court.
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 04:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
In the closed thread Bob said the admin seemed correct.
Never listen to Bob.

I misread the other thread (in terms of who got the ball), I didn't see the play and the player's names mean nothing to me.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 04:25pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Never listen to Bob.

I misread the other thread (in terms of who got the ball), I didn't see the play and the player's names mean nothing to me.
What kind of Duke fan are you? Sheesh!
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 14, 2009, 08:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Never listen to Bob.
Oh no. This is worse than the Epimenides paradox!
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 04:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Philly Area
Posts: 52
Exclamation BUT Duke got the ball at Half Court

Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
I can't view YouTube at work. But Singler did receive an Intentional Technical foul last night and NC took the ball out at half court. Was this the play or a different one? I wasn't paying close attention to the TV but wasn't Singler's T after some kind of scrum for a loose ball?
It appears that they clearly called a dead ball intentional T (it's either nothing, intentional or flagrant when the ball is dead) after the held ball was called. That is why any player from UNC could shoot the free throws and that is why the ball would be taken out at half court and not nearest spot. BUT, the ball was given to Duke at half court, which may have been from the A/P POI, but incorrect in this context.

Edit: I see others have mentioned that Duke got the ball at half court. Wasn't familiar with this forum and the multiple pages.

Last edited by CallMeMrRef; Thu Feb 12, 2009 at 04:15pm. Reason: didn't realize the posts were 3 pages long
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 04:15pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by CallMeMrRef View Post
It appears that they clearly called a dead ball intentional T (it's either nothing, intentional or flagrant when the ball is dead) after the held ball was called. That is why any player from UNC could shoot the free throws and that is why the ball would be taken out at half court and not nearest spot. BUT, the ball was given to Duke at half court, which may have been from the A/P POI, but incorrect in this context.
If they'd gone AP/POI, would the ball not have been inbounded on the endline?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 04:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Philly Area
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
If they'd gone AP/POI, would the ball not have been inbounded on the endline?
Yes, nearest spot. But in this play the intentional T overrides and ball is awarded to offended team at division line. even though we had a held ball, the arrow would not change.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 04:32pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by CallMeMrRef View Post
Yes, nearest spot. But in this play the intentional T overrides and ball is awarded to offended team at division line. even though we had a held ball, the arrow would not change.
I understand that much. My point is that it makes no sense to give the ball to Duke at the division line. Either give it to Duke on the endline (if you're going POI) or give it to UNC at the division line.

I know which is correct, but there's at least some logic to the other. The way it was don't doesn't make sense.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Elbow Brace Juulie Downs Basketball 5 Wed Dec 10, 2008 08:43am
elbow(s) mdray Basketball 14 Fri Oct 27, 2006 02:12pm
throwing an elbow yankeesfan Basketball 4 Sun Jan 30, 2005 05:36am
Elbow violation Adam Basketball 3 Mon Jan 24, 2005 12:24am
elbow pad roadking Basketball 3 Mon Jan 05, 2004 01:42pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:36pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1