The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 12:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 862
[QUOTE=Ref_in_Alberta;578401]Did A2 have control of the ball and illegally move his pivot foot? From your description of events, I'd say no, therefore there cannot be a traveling violation.

A2 was in the air when he initially touched the ball. From my perspective, it looked like he had control and made a try at the goal. The ball didn't hit anything, and the same player caught it. Hope that clears it up a bit.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 12:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 156
[QUOTE=bas2456;578405]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ref_in_Alberta View Post
Did A2 have control of the ball and illegally move his pivot foot? From your description of events, I'd say no, therefore there cannot be a traveling violation.

A2 was in the air when he initially touched the ball. From my perspective, it looked like he had control and made a try at the goal. The ball didn't hit anything, and the same player caught it. Hope that clears it up a bit.
Still no travel because of the try. Only in the NBA (nbe???) you cannot rebound your own "airball".
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 12:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by bas2456 View Post
A2 was in the air when he initially touched the ball. From my perspective, it looked like he had control and made a try at the goal. The ball didn't hit anything, and the same player caught it. Hope that clears it up a bit.
Under NFHS and NCAA rules a player can only be called for traveling WHILE HOLDING THE BALL (except for that one case book situation that prevents a player from circumventing the rule about getting up from the floor).

By your description, the player gained control of the ball while he was airborne. He is certainly allowed to return to the floor with the ball, so why would you think that he wouldn't be allowed to return to the floor without the ball and then get it afterwards? In short, whether the action constitutes a try for goal or not doesn't matter. The play is legal anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 12:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
It's BktBallRef by a nose!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 12, 2009, 12:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by bas2456 View Post
A2 was in the air when he initially touched the ball. From my perspective, it looked like he had control and made a try at the goal. The ball didn't hit anything, and the same player caught it. Hope that clears it up a bit.
There's no rule against recovering your own missed shot in college or HS basketball.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Couple questions??? spartans Basketball 6 Fri Nov 14, 2008 12:01am
Couple of Questions.... BigModdy Football 7 Wed Sep 10, 2008 09:07am
Just a couple questions... gshoe10 Softball 3 Thu Jun 01, 2006 10:18am
couple of questions djmceltic Basketball 18 Wed Apr 20, 2005 06:33am
Couple of Questions gostars Basketball 3 Tue Jan 11, 2005 11:22pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1