The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Couple of questions (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/51599-couple-questions.html)

bas2456 Thu Feb 12, 2009 12:14am

Couple of questions
 
Team A is on offense running the break. A1 tosses to A2 as sort of an alley-oop type of play without the dunk. A2 tips ball with left hand toward basket. Ball doesn't hit anything, and A2, after landing, grabs ball and puts it in.

Is the play a traveling violation?

Team A shoots a three. Ball hits the heel of the rim and caroms all the way into the backcourt. These are shorter courts than normal, so this happens occasionally. Team A retrieves ball in the backcourt.

Backcourt violation?

I was the scorekeeper on this game so I couldn't have made a call anyway.

jdmara Thu Feb 12, 2009 12:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bas2456 (Post 578398)
Team A is on offense running the break. A1 tosses to A2 as sort of an alley-oop type of play without the dunk. A2 tips ball with left hand toward basket. Ball doesn't hit anything, and A2, after landing, grabs ball and puts it in.

Is the play a traveling violation?

Team A shoots a three. Ball hits the heel of the rim and caroms all the way into the backcourt. These are shorter courts than normal, so this happens occasionally. Team A retrieves ball in the backcourt.

Backcourt violation?

I was the scorekeeper on this game so I couldn't have made a call anyway.

It's not a travel if the official determines it's a try/tap

There is no team control on a shot therefore this is not backcourt

-Josh

Ref_in_Alberta Thu Feb 12, 2009 12:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bas2456 (Post 578398)
Team A is on offense running the break. A1 tosses to A2 as sort of an alley-oop type of play without the dunk. A2 tips ball with left hand toward basket. Ball doesn't hit anything, and A2, after landing, grabs ball and puts it in.

Is the play a traveling violation?

Did A2 have control of the ball and illegally move his pivot foot? From your description of events, I'd say no, therefore there cannot be a traveling violation.

Quote:

Originally Posted by bas2456 (Post 578398)
Team A shoots a three. Ball hits the heel of the rim and caroms all the way into the backcourt. These are shorter courts than normal, so this happens occasionally. Team A retrieves ball in the backcourt.

Backcourt violation?

Team control ends on the try for goal and is not re-established until the ball is recovered in the b/c. No violation.

bas2456 Thu Feb 12, 2009 12:32am

[QUOTE=Ref_in_Alberta;578401]Did A2 have control of the ball and illegally move his pivot foot? From your description of events, I'd say no, therefore there cannot be a traveling violation.

A2 was in the air when he initially touched the ball. From my perspective, it looked like he had control and made a try at the goal. The ball didn't hit anything, and the same player caught it. Hope that clears it up a bit.

Ref_in_Alberta Thu Feb 12, 2009 12:39am

[QUOTE=bas2456;578405]
Quote:

Originally Posted by Ref_in_Alberta (Post 578401)
Did A2 have control of the ball and illegally move his pivot foot? From your description of events, I'd say no, therefore there cannot be a traveling violation.

A2 was in the air when he initially touched the ball. From my perspective, it looked like he had control and made a try at the goal. The ball didn't hit anything, and the same player caught it. Hope that clears it up a bit.

Still no travel because of the try. Only in the NBA (nbe???:rolleyes:) you cannot rebound your own "airball".

BktBallRef Thu Feb 12, 2009 12:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdmara (Post 578400)
It's not a travel if the official determines it's a try/tap.

It makes no difference whether it's a try/tap or not. The player tapped the ball and then gained control of it. Nowhere in the player did he step with a pivot foot while holding the ball.

Nevadaref Thu Feb 12, 2009 12:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bas2456 (Post 578405)
A2 was in the air when he initially touched the ball. From my perspective, it looked like he had control and made a try at the goal. The ball didn't hit anything, and the same player caught it. Hope that clears it up a bit.

Under NFHS and NCAA rules a player can only be called for traveling WHILE HOLDING THE BALL (except for that one case book situation that prevents a player from circumventing the rule about getting up from the floor).

By your description, the player gained control of the ball while he was airborne. He is certainly allowed to return to the floor with the ball, so why would you think that he wouldn't be allowed to return to the floor without the ball and then get it afterwards? In short, whether the action constitutes a try for goal or not doesn't matter. The play is legal anyway.

BktBallRef Thu Feb 12, 2009 12:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bas2456 (Post 578405)
A2 was in the air when he initially touched the ball. From my perspective, it looked like he had control and made a try at the goal. The ball didn't hit anything, and the same player caught it. Hope that clears it up a bit.

There's no rule against recovering your own missed shot in college or HS basketball.

Nevadaref Thu Feb 12, 2009 12:44am

It's BktBallRef by a nose! ;)

Camron Rust Thu Feb 12, 2009 01:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 578409)
It makes no difference whether it's a try/tap or not. The player tapped the ball and then gained control of it. Nowhere in the player did he step with a pivot foot while holding the ball.

It may, however, be an illegal dribble...but that's another story.

VolDoug Thu Feb 12, 2009 04:24pm

What if a player, while approaching his basket on a break-away, tosses the ball off of the backboard and dunks it without the ball touching the rim? Legal?

bob jenkins Thu Feb 12, 2009 04:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by VolDoug (Post 578753)
What if a player, while approaching his basket on a break-away, tosses the ball off of the backboard and dunks it without the ball touching the rim? Legal?

Yes, it's legal.

Adam Thu Feb 12, 2009 04:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by VolDoug (Post 578753)
What if a player, while approaching his basket on a break-away, tosses the ball off of the backboard and dunks it without the ball touching the rim? Legal?

Legal. This is typically "considered" a shot attempt even though we know he's not really trying to make it.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1