![]() |
|
|
|||
![]()
2 person crew.
Off of a maid basket team B is pressing hard, all 10 players are in the backcourt. Trail is watching closely for legal screens, etc. Lead is helping at half court. The shot clock gets to 24 and the lead calls a 10 second back court violation. Is this correct for lead to make this call? Is it like 3 seconds a responsibility for both officals? |
|
|||
No it is not correct.
For one the time team control was started has nothing to do with when the shot clock starts. You could get to 20, or even 5 have team control was not started (technically, but not likely). Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
You are saying an example would be if the inbound pass was touched by the defense, the shot clock starts but the back court count doesn't start until there is team control?
|
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
But (two big "ifs" coming here. . .) IF you know that control was gained immediately and IF you know the shot clock started properly, then when the shot clock shows 24, a violation has occurred. Somebody needs to call it. If the Trail's count is off because he/she is concentrating on the backcourt pressure, the Lead should make the call.
I have no problem with the Lead making the call here. |
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Quote:
9-10...An inbounds player (and his team) shall not be in continuous control of a ball that is in his back court for 10 consecutive seconds.If you called the violation when the clock shows 24 then 11 seconds have expired. The violation takes place when the count is equal to 10 seconds. This is different from a throw-in. A throw-in violation occurs when the count is greater then 5 seconds (not equal to 5 seconds): 4-67-5...A thrower-in shall have five seconds from receiving disposal of the ball to release the throw-in. The throw-in count shall end when the ball is released by the thrower-in so that the ball goes directly into the playing court.The 3 second rule is the same as the throw-in (> 3 seconds): 4-9 Art. 1...A player shall not be permitted to have any part of his or her body remain in the three-second lane for more than three consecutive seconds while the ball is in control of that player’s team in his or her front court. |
|
|||
I couldn't imagine it being proper.
How do you know that the shot clock was started correctly? The mechanic is the Trail's count is the official count, correct? Why go against that?
__________________
Pope Francis |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Shot clock violation? Or play on? | Back In The Saddle | Basketball | 5 | Sun Oct 26, 2008 04:15am |
Shot Clock Violation? | OHBBREF | Basketball | 8 | Wed Jan 17, 2007 08:29pm |
SHOT CLOCK VIOLATION? | MRIGUY | Basketball | 9 | Mon Dec 19, 2005 08:58pm |
Shot Clock Violation Reviewable? | aces88 | Basketball | 1 | Mon Mar 07, 2005 02:29pm |
Is it a Shot Clock Violation? | RdBallRef | Basketball | 7 | Tue Nov 06, 2001 01:50pm |